Password:
We are a free and open
community, all are welcome.
Click here to Register
Sponsored
Who is online

In total there are 70 users online :: 3 registered, 0 hidden and 67 guests

Most users ever online was 155 on Mon Aug 15, 2016 1:40 am

Registered users: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], Yahoo [Bot] based on users active over the past 5 minutes

The Team
Administrators
Global Moderators
global_moderators.png CS

First cannon

Built a combustion cannon? Then post it here! This section is for completed, finished cannons that you have built. Please include pictures and information.
Sponsored 
  • Author
First cannon

Unread postAuthor: paaiyan » Fri Feb 09, 2007 12:22 am

OK granted, it's extremely simple and a beginner design, but it's my first try at this. No I haven't tested it yet, working on finding a remote location as I'm not entirely sure what the powers going to be like. I'll put up more pics once I get it painted, right now you can still see the pvc glue and all.

Edit: The ignition system is something of my own design. I'll get a couple of pictures of how i did it tomorrow and post them. I think it's kinda cool myself but that's just me.

Attachments
cannon.jpg
It's just a couple inches shy of 10 feet long. The chamber is 2 1/2 feet of 4-inch pvc and the rest is 2-inch. I'll be using Static Guard as fuel, if anyone can give me a rough estimate about how far it may shoot I'd appreciate the input.
paaiyan
Major General
Major General

Unread postAuthor: frankrede » Fri Feb 09, 2007 2:49 am

Wow thats pretty massive, you might want to consider installing a chamber fan. A rough estimate on range would be well over 100 yards, maybe twice that.

Current project: Afghanistan deployment
frankrede
Lieutenant General
Lieutenant General

Unread postAuthor: Insomniac » Fri Feb 09, 2007 5:15 am

That thing is a BEAST!!!!!
The C:B ratio doesn't look very good, it would probably be a good idea to cut some of the barrel off. But thats just me, I could be wrong.