Password:
We are a free and open
community, all are welcome.
Click here to Register
Sponsored
Who is online

In total there are 71 users online :: 4 registered, 0 hidden and 67 guests

Most users ever online was 218 on Wed Dec 07, 2016 6:58 pm

Registered users: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], MSNbot Media, Yahoo [Bot] based on users active over the past 5 minutes

The Team
Administrators
Global Moderators
global_moderators.png CS

Fuel choise

Post questions and info about combustion (flammable vapor) powered cannons here. This includes discussion about fuels, ratios, ignition systems, safety, and anything else relevant.
Sponsored 
  • Author
Fuel choise

Unread postAuthor: GeoNet » Sun Dec 01, 2013 7:44 am

Hello guys! Im new to spudfiles but not new to spudguns. And right now im making my second one! Just few days back I ordered bbq ignitor from ebay (and I mean that one wich works on batteries, not piesoelectric one) because stunguns are illegal in my country.
But back to my question now! So what you think is best fuel for combustion spud gun? On my old I tried deodorant, airfreshner, hairspray and propane. From these I have came to conclusion that propane is the best because it dont leave anything inside the chamber exept carbon monoxide and water. So it can be easily vented out. The thing is that when my old spudgun was having piesoelectric ignitor and I used hairspray, it left gooey substance inside my combustion chamber and after some time my spark didnt work because spark gaps were covered and I had to make frequent maintenance. So my conclusion here is that I say BIG NO to hairspray!
How about N2O and nitromehtane? I understand that they have faster combustion but will PVC pipes handle that kind of blow?

What do you think?

GeoNet
Private
Private

Re: Fuel choise

Unread postAuthor: jackssmirkingrevenge » Sun Dec 01, 2013 9:03 am

It's all in the wiki ;)

Consider also letting the glory of syringe metering into your life: