Login    Register
User Information
Username:
Password:
We are a free and open
community, all are welcome.
Click here to Register
Sponsored
Who is online

In total there are 62 users online :: 4 registered, 0 hidden and 58 guests


Most users ever online was 155 on Mon Aug 15, 2016 1:40 am

Registered users: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], MSNbot Media, Yahoo [Bot] based on users active over the past 5 minutes

The Team
Administrators
Global Moderators
global_moderators.png CS

Modem

All non-spudgun related discussion goes here such as projects, theories, serious questions, etc. All "off-topic" posts (aka useless posting, determined by moderators) will be removed.
Sponsored 
  • Author
    Message

Modem

Unread postAuthor: ShowNoMercy » Wed Dec 05, 2007 4:13 pm

Hey I just found out that the cable to my room is now internet too, so I am gonna get a modem and have my own network, me and xbox. :lol: Anywho, I really have no idea what I am looking for in a modem, anyone good with this sort of stuff? Brands to look for, speeds etc. Thanks
  • 0

Jesus saves, no need to pray
The gates of pearl have turned to gold
It seems you've lost your way
User avatar
ShowNoMercy
Brigadier General
Brigadier General
 
Posts: 1094
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2007 8:08 am
Location: Jersey Bitches!
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: jrrdw » Wed Dec 05, 2007 4:19 pm

I think your saposted to have Comcast as your ISP in order for that to work.
  • 0

When life gives you lemons...throw them back they suck!
User avatar
jrrdw
Donating Moderator
Donating Moderator
 
Posts: 6538
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 5:11 pm
Location: Maryland
Country: United States (us)
Reputation: 25

Unread postAuthor: ShowNoMercy » Wed Dec 05, 2007 4:21 pm

Well I do have com cast but they say you cant do it because they want to charge you more for them to install it and then say that you have double the network ability's. Which is preposterous, now I wont stoop to steal from local businesses but com cast is a big conglomerate that i do not like.
  • 0

Jesus saves, no need to pray
The gates of pearl have turned to gold
It seems you've lost your way
User avatar
ShowNoMercy
Brigadier General
Brigadier General
 
Posts: 1094
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2007 8:08 am
Location: Jersey Bitches!
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: LikimysCrotchus5 » Wed Dec 05, 2007 4:25 pm

Well, first off, it matters about what ISP you have currently. Some allow you to have more than one modem while others dont. My ISP, for example, doesnt allow me to have more than one modem so i had to go with a wireless setup and it worked pretty good.

Image

This was the wireless router i had to use. It connected to my wireless network and then i just plugged in a RJ-45 ethernet cable from the router to the xbox, and it worked well.
  • 0

4SPC, My 4" piston 3" porting cannon
Memo:
Fix up copper cannon
Fix up 4SPC
Start Stirrup pump
Start Toolies piston bazooka
User avatar
LikimysCrotchus5
Brigadier General
Brigadier General
 
Posts: 1100
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2007 10:16 pm
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: ShowNoMercy » Wed Dec 05, 2007 4:28 pm

Yea as of now I have a wireless router downstairs, but figured that if i have a direct connection in my room my speeds will be a lot faster.
  • 0

Jesus saves, no need to pray
The gates of pearl have turned to gold
It seems you've lost your way
User avatar
ShowNoMercy
Brigadier General
Brigadier General
 
Posts: 1094
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2007 8:08 am
Location: Jersey Bitches!
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: LikimysCrotchus5 » Wed Dec 05, 2007 4:33 pm

well then you will need a long ethernet cable for that. I found that wireless and wired worked pretty much the same cause my friend uses wired and i used wireless. But it should be fine.
  • 0

4SPC, My 4" piston 3" porting cannon
Memo:
Fix up copper cannon
Fix up 4SPC
Start Stirrup pump
Start Toolies piston bazooka
User avatar
LikimysCrotchus5
Brigadier General
Brigadier General
 
Posts: 1100
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2007 10:16 pm
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: potatoflinger » Wed Dec 05, 2007 4:35 pm

Well, you could always just run an ethernet cable from the modem to the room where your xbox is, or if your ISP won't allow you to have more than one modem, you could get a signal booster for the wireless router that you have right now.
  • 0

It's hard to soar with eagles when you're working with turkeys.
User avatar
potatoflinger
Brigadier General
Brigadier General
 
Posts: 1136
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 3:26 pm
Location: Maryland
Reputation: 1

Sponsored

Sponsor
 


Unread postAuthor: BigGrib » Wed Dec 05, 2007 5:51 pm

how fast are you connecting at now
  • 0

Yea, that's definitely going to get you at least a tazer.

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AkMkGOpAF4s">DONT TAZE ME BRO.. DONT TAZE ME... AHHHH</a>
facebook.com/biggrib
User avatar
BigGrib
Colonel
Colonel
 
Posts: 652
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 11:43 pm
Location: TriCities, WA
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: TurboSuper » Thu Dec 06, 2007 6:12 am

If you have 802.11n then there's no point. I'd take a wired setup over a 802.11g any day, though.
  • 0

"If at first you dont succeed, then skydiving is not for you" - Darwin Awards

TurboSuper
Brigadier General
Brigadier General
 
Posts: 986
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2005 1:44 pm
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: Pete Zaria » Sun Feb 17, 2008 5:09 am

.......

OK, where to start.

First of all, you can plug any modem you want into the wall jack, it won't connect to jack squat until the ISP specifically authorizes that modem by DOCSIS and MAC ID numbers - until then, you won't even get an IP address.

Otherwise, wouldn't we all just buy a cable modem and plug it in?

Second, you can only run ONE cable modem per cable line - meaning you can't have two modems on the same house coax circuit.

Third, you directly admitted to doing something illegal... Just because Comcast or etc... is a multinational corporation and you don't like them doesn't mean it's OK to steal from them, or does it mean it's OK to discuss it on this forum. Normally I'd lock this thread but I want to give you a chance to respond :)

Peace,
Pete Zaria.
  • 0

User avatar
Pete Zaria
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 978
Joined: Fri Mar 31, 2006 6:04 pm
Location: Near Seattle, WA
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: TurboSuper » Sun Feb 17, 2008 11:01 am

Since this was posted over a month ago, I doubt he will :D
  • 0

"If at first you dont succeed, then skydiving is not for you" - Darwin Awards

TurboSuper
Brigadier General
Brigadier General
 
Posts: 986
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2005 1:44 pm
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: ShowNoMercy » Sun Feb 17, 2008 11:33 am

Oh watch me, :lol:
  • 0

Jesus saves, no need to pray
The gates of pearl have turned to gold
It seems you've lost your way
User avatar
ShowNoMercy
Brigadier General
Brigadier General
 
Posts: 1094
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2007 8:08 am
Location: Jersey Bitches!
Reputation: 0

Return to Non-Spudgun Related Discussion

Who is online

Registered users: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], MSNbot Media, Yahoo [Bot]

Reputation System ©'