Login    Register
User Information
Username:
Password:
We are a free and open
community, all are welcome.
Click here to Register
Sponsored
Who is online

In total there are 73 users online :: 4 registered, 0 hidden and 69 guests


Most users ever online was 155 on Mon Aug 15, 2016 1:40 am

Registered users: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], MSNbot Media, Yahoo [Bot] based on users active over the past 5 minutes

The Team
Administrators
Global Moderators
global_moderators.png CS

Turntable Issue

All non-spudgun related discussion goes here such as projects, theories, serious questions, etc. All "off-topic" posts (aka useless posting, determined by moderators) will be removed.
Sponsored 
  • Author
    Message

Unread postAuthor: jrrdw » Sat Mar 01, 2008 9:16 pm

Try pulling on the other end to gain a little slack. Mite work, you could also try switching to get a longer one to put in that posision??? Sounds like thats your malfunction. Move the arm around and see if it tugs on the wires while moving it like it's tracking across the album.
  • 0

When life gives you lemons...throw them back they suck!
User avatar
jrrdw
Donating Moderator
Donating Moderator
 
Posts: 6538
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 5:11 pm
Location: Maryland
Country: United States (us)
Reputation: 25

Unread postAuthor: jrrdw » Sat Mar 01, 2008 9:19 pm

Not playing the entire album is a anti-skating adjustment. There should be a dail on the caseing just behind the arm.
  • 0

When life gives you lemons...throw them back they suck!
User avatar
jrrdw
Donating Moderator
Donating Moderator
 
Posts: 6538
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 5:11 pm
Location: Maryland
Country: United States (us)
Reputation: 25

Unread postAuthor: MrCrowley » Sat Mar 01, 2008 9:24 pm

There is a dial, it goes from 0 to 4 (0) but it doesn't seem to do anything, moving thew dial forwards and backwards changes the weight put on the arm, but that's about it.
  • 0

User avatar
MrCrowley
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 10207
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 10:42 pm
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Country: New Zealand (nz)
Reputation: 4

Unread postAuthor: jrrdw » Sat Mar 01, 2008 9:43 pm

Thats the balance weight for the arm, you should only have enough weight on the needle to make contact with the album. Some of my friends hang their turn tables from the celing, that way they keep the needle weight really lite and walking across the floor doesn't make it skip.

The turn table you have mite not have a anti-skating adjustment, if it does, it will be behind the arm on the deck, not on the arm it's self. You mite have to add a little more weight to the needle to make it travel the entire album.

Check the wires coming from the arm and make sure it's not holding it from tracking the entire album.

I'm checken out for the knight, if I can think of anything else, I'll give you a holler, good luck.
  • 0

When life gives you lemons...throw them back they suck!
User avatar
jrrdw
Donating Moderator
Donating Moderator
 
Posts: 6538
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 5:11 pm
Location: Maryland
Country: United States (us)
Reputation: 25

Unread postAuthor: MrCrowley » Sat Mar 01, 2008 9:59 pm

It has a little switch on the deck nehind the arm, which you can move up and down in 6 stages, 0,1,2,3,4,5 and 6.
Still doesn't seem to do anything.

This is really pissing me off, I might see if I can get it serviced, if that's too expensive it'll make a great target.

Thanks.
  • 0

User avatar
MrCrowley
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 10207
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 10:42 pm
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Country: New Zealand (nz)
Reputation: 4

Unread postAuthor: pizlo » Sat Mar 01, 2008 10:59 pm

Put a couple of cans on it while its turning and shoot them off one by one.
  • 0

User avatar
pizlo
Brigadier General
Brigadier General
 
Posts: 783
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2006 7:27 pm
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: jrrdw » Sun Mar 02, 2008 7:24 am

pizlo wrote:Put a couple of cans on it while its turning and shoot them off one by one.


There you go, moving targets!

You did say everything else worked ok through both speakers? Try a new head set up.

Here check out this Ebay page.
  • 0

When life gives you lemons...throw them back they suck!
User avatar
jrrdw
Donating Moderator
Donating Moderator
 
Posts: 6538
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 5:11 pm
Location: Maryland
Country: United States (us)
Reputation: 25

Sponsored

Sponsor
 


Re: Turntable Issue

Unread postAuthor: dewey-1 » Sun Mar 02, 2008 9:13 am

--
  • 0

Last edited by dewey-1 on Sun Apr 20, 2008 1:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
dewey-1
Major General
Major General
 
Posts: 1298
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 10:24 am
Location: NE Wisconsin USA
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: Matheusilla » Sun Mar 02, 2008 9:14 am

or switch the right to the left and see if it's not the pre amp. I hate half blown stereos, I get them all the time.
  • 0


Matheusilla
Sergeant First Class
Sergeant First Class
 
Posts: 140
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 7:43 pm
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: jimmy101 » Sun Mar 02, 2008 11:26 am

Did you try jiggling/cycling the source selector switch on the amp?

First thing to crap out on an elecrtronics device is, 99.9% of the time, the switches. (Well OK, with a turntable or tape deck the motors/pulleys etc. crap out pretty often as well). Basically, when an electronics gizmo has a problem the first thing to suspect is any part that moves.

Wires don't usually move and are rarely the source problems. F'ing around with the wires greatly increases the chance of them becoming a new problem.

Switches move. The source selector switch(es) have to switch both the left and right audio sources. Switches get dusty inside over time and start to act flakey. Cycle / jiggle the switch mutilple times with a record playing. Does the missing channel come and go?

It looks like your system is an integrated one, to bad. If it was descrete components you could try just plugging the turntable into another of the amps inputs. The sound will suck because the preamp is wrong but that would at least tell you if the problem is in the turntable or the amp.


BTW "damn fine system" is a phrase that is rarely applied to an amp/turntable/tape deck all in the same case.
  • 0

Image

jimmy101
Lieutenant General
Lieutenant General
 
Posts: 3127
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 9:48 am
Location: Greenwood, Indiana
Country: United States (us)
Reputation: 7

Unread postAuthor: dewey-1 » Sun Mar 02, 2008 12:03 pm

--
  • 0

Last edited by dewey-1 on Sun Apr 20, 2008 1:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
dewey-1
Major General
Major General
 
Posts: 1298
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 10:24 am
Location: NE Wisconsin USA
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: MrCrowley » Sun Mar 02, 2008 1:26 pm

dewey-1 wrote:
jimmy101 wrote:Did you try jiggling/cycling the source selector switch on the amp?


That is a good point Jimmy.
A contact cleaner for electronic switches/potentiometers may also be helpful if you can spray some into the source selector switch.

Mr C; Didn't you have a similar problem on some other device with scratchy volume control?


Yeah but it turned out to be the RCA cable.

dewey-1 wrote:
MrCrowley wrote:Anyway, I got home and tested it, and worked perfectly, the turntable, tape deck and radio.


Does this mean you actually played a record and had both channels working?

If all leads are disconnected from cartridge head:

Left: white is input, touch this lead and should get hum on left speaker.
Right: red is input, touch this lead and should get hum on right speaker.

If still no right channel; either cable/s or twisted wire pairs are open to the preamp circuit.
Some decks have these twisted pairs going to dual phono jack and then have audio cables coming out of the changer.
It could still be the preamp for that non-working channel.

Take some close up pictures of the stylus and underside of turntable.


Yeah both channels were working with a record the night before.

When messing around with the red wire I got no hum or static like I did with the white wire.

I've got school shortly so I'll go through this again when I get home and let you know how it goes.

Thanks.


@Jimmy

I just got that from my Dad, who used to work for Panasonic Technics at the time National was still around, now National has phased out and they build Technics.
  • 0

User avatar
MrCrowley
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 10207
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 10:42 pm
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Country: New Zealand (nz)
Reputation: 4

Unread postAuthor: MrCrowley » Sun Mar 02, 2008 10:59 pm

Okay, well I switched the left and right wires around on the stylus but it still only plays through the left.

So that must mean the stylus isn't worried what side the wires are plugged in, so the wires must be left or right depeneding on where in the pre-amp they are plugged in, and if the right side of the pre-amp doesn't work, then changing the right wires to the left side on the stylus wont have any effect, which it didn't.

So I think that means it's the pre-amp that's buggered.

Though when switching them around I did get a humming noise when touching the red (right) cable...
  • 0

User avatar
MrCrowley
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 10207
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 10:42 pm
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Country: New Zealand (nz)
Reputation: 4

Unread postAuthor: ammosmoke » Mon Mar 03, 2008 12:09 am

It sounds almost as if the left speaker isn't plugged in at all... Does it give any sort of humming or static sound when you give power to the system? (Not playing a record.) Put your ear up to it and see if you can hear that familiar hissing sound. If you don't, I would look at the speaker connections. Follow the wires from their connection to the speaker, and go from there. I have dealt with a few frustating speaker problems, and for some reason it was always because there was a shaky connection from somebody accidently yanking or tripping on a wire. But, this isn't really a modular system.... Hmm. If it is sorta like a sony boombox, the problem might be this... The sony boombox has those weird clamp connectors on the back of the speakers right? Those can get pushed out after a while by themselves, maybe that is it. Well, if the system has that kind of connection. But again, it could be the pre-amp connection. Although it sounds sorta strange for it to just suddenly not work at all, whatever the culprit.
  • 0

<img>http://www.speedtest.net/result/309559995.png</img>
User avatar
ammosmoke
Brigadier General
Brigadier General
 
Posts: 1011
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2006 10:57 am
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: MrCrowley » Mon Mar 03, 2008 12:16 am

It's not the speaker, we established that in my very first post in the topic :wink:

I tried heaphones...


Anyway with some help from my dad, we have established that it's the pre-amp as I tried the microphone but it only registers on the left decibel meter.
  • 0

User avatar
MrCrowley
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 10207
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 10:42 pm
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Country: New Zealand (nz)
Reputation: 4

PreviousNext

Return to Non-Spudgun Related Discussion

Who is online

Registered users: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], MSNbot Media, Yahoo [Bot]

Reputation System ©'