Login    Register
User Information
Username:
Password:
We are a free and open
community, all are welcome.
Click here to Register
Sponsored
Who is online

In total there are 69 users online :: 5 registered, 0 hidden and 64 guests


Most users ever online was 155 on Mon Aug 15, 2016 1:40 am

Registered users: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot], MSNbot Media, Yahoo [Bot] based on users active over the past 5 minutes

The Team
Administrators
Global Moderators
global_moderators.png CS

I want to see your desktop!

All non-spudgun related discussion goes here such as projects, theories, serious questions, etc. All "off-topic" posts (aka useless posting, determined by moderators) will be removed.
Sponsored 
  • Author
    Message

I want to see your desktop!

Unread postAuthor: Darkside 6ix » Fri Jul 11, 2008 10:22 pm

Well I thought of making one of those threads that everybody can participate. I mean EVERYBODY. Unless, you dont have a computer, therefore not having a desktop, therefor not being able to access spudfiles regularly, thus having to go to the library to post. Lolcats. Well if it isnt obvious on what I want you to do, just take a snapshot of your desktop, and post it here.

Heres myn
Image

EDIT: I also thought it would be neat to list your computers specs. Like the capacity of your hard drive, CPU speed, Laptop/Desktop computer, RAM size, etc.

HD = 120gig
CPU= 1.6ghz
RAM= 1g DDR2
Laptop
  • 0

"Dude, if all of the people on spudfiles got together with all of their cannons, we could take over china"
User avatar
Darkside 6ix
1st Lieutenant
1st Lieutenant
 
Posts: 298
Joined: Sun Apr 30, 2006 6:53 am
Location: United States
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: brplatz » Fri Jul 11, 2008 11:07 pm

before i post i have to say, i hate mcafee with a brutal passion. :D (its a comp killer)

Image

HD= dual 500g WD in raid, 74gb raptor
CPU=2.4GHZ Quad core
RAM=4gig ddr2
VID CARD=8800gt
desktop
  • 0

User avatar
brplatz
2nd Lieutenant
2nd Lieutenant
 
Posts: 222
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2008 12:21 am
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: iisthemuffin » Fri Jul 11, 2008 11:19 pm

Yea. Its clouds alright. I like to keep it simple. i dont really mind the background.
  • 0

Attachments
untitled.JPG
User avatar
iisthemuffin
Lieutenant Colonel
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Posts: 497
Joined: Sun May 11, 2008 2:38 pm
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: MrCrowley » Fri Jul 11, 2008 11:32 pm

May as well...
  • 0

Attachments
desktop.jpg
Like the wallpaper I made? :P
User avatar
MrCrowley
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 10207
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 10:42 pm
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Country: New Zealand (nz)
Reputation: 4

Unread postAuthor: Darkside 6ix » Fri Jul 11, 2008 11:36 pm

well I get it for free from comcast =] but what other anti virus would you reccomend? mcafee has been good to me in the past
  • 0

"Dude, if all of the people on spudfiles got together with all of their cannons, we could take over china"
User avatar
Darkside 6ix
1st Lieutenant
1st Lieutenant
 
Posts: 298
Joined: Sun Apr 30, 2006 6:53 am
Location: United States
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: MrCrowley » Fri Jul 11, 2008 11:39 pm

I use AntiVir PE Classic.

It was free and works really well and doesn't cause any problems. I've never needed to use it much but i'd just be browsing some random site and it comes up and alerts me saying something is trying to access something on my computer, just click deny and carry on.

I've had my computer for over a year without formatting and i've never had a virus.
  • 0

User avatar
MrCrowley
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 10207
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 10:42 pm
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Country: New Zealand (nz)
Reputation: 4

Unread postAuthor: Darkside 6ix » Fri Jul 11, 2008 11:42 pm

Ill give it a shot....I just got this new laptop of myn like 5 days ago...so security is the number1 priority for me right now
  • 0

"Dude, if all of the people on spudfiles got together with all of their cannons, we could take over china"
User avatar
Darkside 6ix
1st Lieutenant
1st Lieutenant
 
Posts: 298
Joined: Sun Apr 30, 2006 6:53 am
Location: United States
Reputation: 0

Sponsored

Sponsor
 


Unread postAuthor: brplatz » Fri Jul 11, 2008 11:43 pm

From my perspective and experience (i am a computer technician as part time job) Mcafee is a computer resources hog. It takes up a lot of mem and cpu usage even at idle compared to other anti viruses. I personally use AVG. www.grisoft.com. Or I also recommend kaspersky. www.kaspersky.com also any Norton virus protection stuff i despise. Except for Norton ghost 2k3 :D which is very nice
  • 0

User avatar
brplatz
2nd Lieutenant
2nd Lieutenant
 
Posts: 222
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2008 12:21 am
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: Eddbot » Fri Jul 11, 2008 11:47 pm

here's mine, i gots a kitty...
  • 0

Attachments
dldtrtu.jpg
:edfirst:
User avatar
Eddbot
Lieutenant Colonel
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Posts: 434
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2007 6:08 pm
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: LikimysCrotchus5 » Fri Jul 11, 2008 11:50 pm

When you press printscrn, which folder is the pic in?
  • 0

4SPC, My 4" piston 3" porting cannon
Memo:
Fix up copper cannon
Fix up 4SPC
Start Stirrup pump
Start Toolies piston bazooka
User avatar
LikimysCrotchus5
Brigadier General
Brigadier General
 
Posts: 1100
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2007 10:16 pm
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: MrCrowley » Fri Jul 11, 2008 11:52 pm

Go into MSPaint and press ctrl + v and it should show up. Then just save the picture.
  • 0

User avatar
MrCrowley
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 10207
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 10:42 pm
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Country: New Zealand (nz)
Reputation: 4

Unread postAuthor: brplatz » Fri Jul 11, 2008 11:52 pm

its not in a folder, its on the clipboard. go to paint and press Ctrl-v

EDIT: argh , beat me to it! :D
  • 0

User avatar
brplatz
2nd Lieutenant
2nd Lieutenant
 
Posts: 222
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2008 12:21 am
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: starman » Fri Jul 11, 2008 11:55 pm

Here's mine as of 07/12/08

Image

This computer...(I have several)

HP laptop, 15.4" video
1.61 Ghz TL-52, dual core AMD X2 Turion
2 GB DDR2 RAM
250 GB SATA harddrive
Windows XP, SP3
  • 0

Last edited by starman on Sat Jul 12, 2008 12:22 am, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
starman
Donating Moderator
Donating Moderator
 
Posts: 3041
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2007 12:45 am
Location: Simpsonville, SC
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: brplatz » Fri Jul 11, 2008 11:58 pm

very nice i like to see others with "network stumbler" in there arsenal of programs :twisted: very usefull at times
  • 0

User avatar
brplatz
2nd Lieutenant
2nd Lieutenant
 
Posts: 222
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2008 12:21 am
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: LikimysCrotchus5 » Sat Jul 12, 2008 12:00 am

ahhhh, gotcha
  • 0

Attachments
Desktop2.JPG
Last edited by LikimysCrotchus5 on Sat Jul 12, 2008 12:14 am, edited 1 time in total.
4SPC, My 4" piston 3" porting cannon
Memo:
Fix up copper cannon
Fix up 4SPC
Start Stirrup pump
Start Toolies piston bazooka
User avatar
LikimysCrotchus5
Brigadier General
Brigadier General
 
Posts: 1100
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2007 10:16 pm
Reputation: 0

Next

Return to Non-Spudgun Related Discussion

Who is online

Registered users: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot], MSNbot Media, Yahoo [Bot]

Reputation System ©'