Login    Register
User Information
Username:
Password:
We are a free and open
community, all are welcome.
Click here to Register
Sponsored
Who is online

In total there are 50 users online :: 4 registered, 0 hidden and 46 guests


Most users ever online was 155 on Mon Aug 15, 2016 1:40 am

Registered users: Google [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot], Majestic-12 [Bot], Yahoo [Bot] based on users active over the past 5 minutes

The Team
Administrators
Global Moderators
global_moderators.png CS

Subwoofer Issues

All non-spudgun related discussion goes here such as projects, theories, serious questions, etc. All "off-topic" posts (aka useless posting, determined by moderators) will be removed.
Sponsored 
  • Author
    Message

Subwoofer Issues

Unread postAuthor: spudkilla » Sat Apr 11, 2009 9:07 pm

Hey guys, I need some help with my new Subwoofer. My subwoofer is rated at 4 ohms. my amplifier is only rated for 8-16 ohms. I don't want to damage my amp or sub. I would bridge the output of my amp, but it is a home stereo receiver. I am currently using just the left channel on this amp, because, once again, I can't bridge it. Is there a way to re-wire this amp so that I could get it to 4 ohms? What about getting it down to 4 ohms AND using the power form the other channel?



Thanks,


Max


Edit: Post 150! Wooohooo!
  • 0

Why do I try to make a relevant post?
User avatar
spudkilla
Master Sergeant
Master Sergeant
 
Posts: 163
Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2007 10:33 am
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: Carlman » Sat Apr 11, 2009 9:34 pm

Is this for a automotive application or not? Is the sub twin ch?

You can get a decent monoblock for cheap but if you wanna use the other chanel get yourself a 2ch.

If the sub is automotive then your home amp won't power it enough it will just drone.

Afternote...

At the moment I am running a Pioneer Compitition series sub off a 1200w alpine amp. Controlled by an alpine head unit with four 6", one in each door, two 6x9s and a set of tweeters. LOUD!

I'm getting a hilux soon and I plan to get a 4ch bridgeable amp, running the sub off bridged ch 1 and 2 and speakers on the other 2 ch.
  • 0

Image
Aussie spudders unite!!
User avatar
Carlman
Major General
Major General
 
Posts: 1618
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2007 1:18 am
Location: Western Australia
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: spudkilla » Sat Apr 11, 2009 10:03 pm

No, I'm using it for Home Audio use. It is a Pioneer 12" Subwoofer I'm using a Home Stereo Receiver that has plenty of power for this sub. It is only a single coil sub. Oh, I got this sub for free, so don't be hating, Mr 1200 Watts. :)
  • 0

Why do I try to make a relevant post?
User avatar
spudkilla
Master Sergeant
Master Sergeant
 
Posts: 163
Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2007 10:33 am
Reputation: 0

Re: Subwoofer Issues

Unread postAuthor: starman » Sat Apr 11, 2009 10:07 pm

spudkilla wrote:Hey guys, I need some help with my new Subwoofer. My subwoofer is rated at 4 ohms. my amplifier is only rated for 8-16 ohms. I don't want to damage my amp or sub. I would bridge the output of my amp, but it is a home stereo receiver. I am currently using just the left channel on this amp, because, once again, I can't bridge it. Is there a way to re-wire this amp so that I could get it to 4 ohms? What about getting it down to 4 ohms AND using the power form the other channel?


The basic answer is no. Only really high end home stereo gear is rated to drive 4 ohms these days. You also won't have any bridging options available to you. If you connect the speaker, either the stereo fuse will blow or output circuit protection kicks in until it is disconnected.

Your best option is to get another identical 4 ohm subwoofer speaker and connect the two in series with each other...the minus of one speaker connecting to the plus of the other, then the left over minus and plus connections of both speakers hookup to the amp. This will give you a 8 ohm load and twice the power handling capacity...ie. say, if they are rated at 200 watts, you'll be able to drive them both together to 400 watts total.
  • 0

User avatar
starman
Donating Moderator
Donating Moderator
 
Posts: 3041
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2007 12:45 am
Location: Simpsonville, SC
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: spudkilla » Sat Apr 11, 2009 10:13 pm

I've ran this speaker with the amp, and everything sounds fine, I'm just worried that if I keep this up, I'm going to blow my amp. And The amp has a automatic overload shutoff, hence if the two speaker cables come loose and touch, I can hear a relay immediately kick off and kill the amp until they are disconnected from each other.
  • 0

Why do I try to make a relevant post?
User avatar
spudkilla
Master Sergeant
Master Sergeant
 
Posts: 163
Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2007 10:33 am
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: starman » Sun Apr 12, 2009 12:18 am

spudkilla wrote:I've ran this speaker with the amp, and everything sounds fine, I'm just worried that if I keep this up, I'm going to blow my amp. And The amp has a automatic overload shutoff, hence if the two speaker cables come loose and touch, I can hear a relay immediately kick off and kill the amp until they are disconnected from each other.


It's harder to hear a subwoofer distorting. Just because it may sound OK doesn't mean it isn't a problem. You may be getting by with it because you are running it at relatively low levels. Still wouldn't leave it that way.
  • 0

User avatar
starman
Donating Moderator
Donating Moderator
 
Posts: 3041
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2007 12:45 am
Location: Simpsonville, SC
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: rna_duelers » Sun Apr 12, 2009 5:01 am

I run 4ohm twin 12" off my home stereo system which is running 100Watts RMS.The amplifier is rated to run 8ohm but it works great with my 4ohm speakers and tweeters.Although I do has crossover system to make sure the speakers run only frequencies which are safe for them to replicate,this is the most important features of a home stereo system and you don't want a subwoofer as yours trying to replicate 20,000hz frequency you only want it running upto say 250-300 hz without it your woofer is merely a speaker not doing it's proper job.

But the speaker of your choice isn't very wise for home entertainment,as it's meant to be powered by alot more WRMS than most home amps can supply.Oh plus what type of box is the speaker housed in?Bass reflex,sealed,band pass?


Here's a picture of one I made.
Image
  • 0

Image
User avatar
rna_duelers
Major General
Major General
 
Posts: 1740
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2005 7:07 am
Location: G-land Australia
Country: Australia (au)
Reputation: 1

Sponsored

Sponsor
 


Return to Non-Spudgun Related Discussion

Who is online

Registered users: Google [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot], Majestic-12 [Bot], Yahoo [Bot]

Reputation System ©'