Login    Register
User Information
Username:
Password:
We are a free and open
community, all are welcome.
Click here to Register
Sponsored
Who is online

In total there are 62 users online :: 5 registered, 0 hidden and 57 guests


Most users ever online was 155 on Mon Aug 15, 2016 1:40 am

Registered users: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot], MSNbot Media, Yahoo [Bot] based on users active over the past 5 minutes

The Team
Administrators
Global Moderators
global_moderators.png CS

Desktop pc as wireless router

All non-spudgun related discussion goes here such as projects, theories, serious questions, etc. All "off-topic" posts (aka useless posting, determined by moderators) will be removed.
Sponsored 
  • Author
    Message

Desktop pc as wireless router

Unread postAuthor: Eddbot » Fri Apr 17, 2009 1:14 am

Hey, this is my first port in a while, i've only been lurking lately. Anyway, i have a computer question for anyone willing to give it a try. Most of the time i can figure computer things out on my own but this is a stumper.

I recently got a laptop with wireless capabilities but we don't have a wireless router. So I thought maybe i can use the wireless antenna thing on my desktop to connect to my laptop and use the desktop's wired ethernet connection to get to the internet.

I have done this before but the other way around where my xbox was connected to a laptop via ethernet cable then the laptop was connected to a wireless connection. That worked but i can't seem to get it to work the other way around. Sorry, that was kinda wordy, and i'm tired and it's late...
  • 0

:edfirst:
User avatar
Eddbot
Lieutenant Colonel
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Posts: 434
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2007 6:08 pm
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: starman » Fri Apr 17, 2009 1:45 am

A basic Linksys wireless router is $50 at Walmart. This is the way you should go.

It is possible to use the desktop as an "internet router" but I don't recommend it as a permanent mechanism and I'm too tired right now to describe to you how to do it....it is a little involved.
  • 0

User avatar
starman
Donating Moderator
Donating Moderator
 
Posts: 3041
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2007 12:45 am
Location: Simpsonville, SC
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: Carlman » Fri Apr 17, 2009 4:00 am

Running the connection through a desktop only slows it as ive found.

As starman sugested, just buy a cheap router.
  • 0

Image
Aussie spudders unite!!
User avatar
Carlman
Major General
Major General
 
Posts: 1618
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2007 1:18 am
Location: Western Australia
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: TurboSuper » Fri Apr 17, 2009 5:57 am

You can set individual wireless network cards in "ad-hoc" mode for a cheap and easy one-host wireless AP. Bridge the wireless card with your wired interface, and if all is done right, you should be able to connect without a hitch.

Of course, there are some limitations- the host computer obviously has to be on. Also, you need a wired router somewhere to act as a DHCP server and perform NAT. Unless you want to install all these services on the PC.

I prefer a dedicated router, personally, but if you only plan on having one wireless client and are really strapped for cash, the above method works quite well.
  • 0

"If at first you dont succeed, then skydiving is not for you" - Darwin Awards

TurboSuper
Brigadier General
Brigadier General
 
Posts: 986
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2005 1:44 pm
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: mark.f » Fri Apr 17, 2009 11:10 am

A LinkSys router, like starman said, is the best way to go. They are very versatile (as in no software required and flexible in installation), and I've currently got two PC's hardwired to mine, as well as a number of different laptops and phones using WiFi. Very easy to secure, as well, although there are tools to break into just about any network these days...
  • 0

User avatar
mark.f
Donating Member
Donating Member
 
Posts: 3464
Joined: Sat May 06, 2006 11:18 am
Country: United States (us)
Reputation: 21

Unread postAuthor: Pilgrimman » Fri Apr 17, 2009 11:18 am

I would NOT mess with your computer like that... There can be many problems, and it's hard to get it to work properly. I got my router for free, just ask around and I bet you'll come up with something. Old folks are your best bet because they often get rid of things they don't need that are invaluable to us :D I got my stereo receiver free that way :D
  • 0

Yeah, we wouldn't want to anger the bees, now would we??

I HATE YOU BEES! I HATE YOU BEES! I HATE YOU BEES!

LMAO Classic!!!! I love Family Guy!
User avatar
Pilgrimman
Lieutenant Colonel
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Posts: 481
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2007 1:10 pm
Location: Grants Pass, OR
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: Eddbot » Fri Apr 17, 2009 6:48 pm

Thanks for the responses, i just set up an ad-hoc network and that's working without any problems so thanks. I'm gonna go back to lurking...
  • 0

:edfirst:
User avatar
Eddbot
Lieutenant Colonel
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Posts: 434
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2007 6:08 pm
Reputation: 0

Sponsored

Sponsor
 


Return to Non-Spudgun Related Discussion

Who is online

Registered users: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot], MSNbot Media, Yahoo [Bot]

Reputation System ©'