Login    Register
User Information
Username:
Password:
We are a free and open
community, all are welcome.
Click here to Register
Sponsored
Who is online

In total there are 80 users online :: 3 registered, 1 hidden and 76 guests


Most users ever online was 155 on Mon Aug 15, 2016 1:40 am

Registered users: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], Yahoo [Bot] based on users active over the past 5 minutes

The Team
Administrators
Global Moderators
global_moderators.png CS

The Official High-Speed Camera Thread

All non-spudgun related discussion goes here such as projects, theories, serious questions, etc. All "off-topic" posts (aka useless posting, determined by moderators) will be removed.
Sponsored 
  • Author
    Message

Unread postAuthor: jackssmirkingrevenge » Tue Jan 26, 2010 7:47 am

Insomniac wrote:Awesome! I'd been wondering when customs was finally gonna stop playing with it and let you have a go :lol:


Typical epoxyland bureaucracy, it took longer to clear from customs than to arrive here from Japan :roll:

Did you get a spare battery/decent memory card for it? With 2 batteries I have never had both go flat on me at the same time, and they don't take long to charge. Very annoying to have your camera and everything else all set up, and then have the battery die...


I'm guessing it doesn't come with a card? If not I'll stop by to buy one on the way home, I'm guessing 4 gig should suffice? Considering I'll have my PC at hand to download movies after filming. How much space does say 10 second real time video at 420 fps take?
  • 0

User avatar
jackssmirkingrevenge
Donating Member
Donating Member
 
Posts: 24225
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 11:28 pm
Country: Holy See (Vatican City State) (va)
Reputation: 66

Unread postAuthor: Ragnarok » Tue Jan 26, 2010 8:04 am

jackssmirkingrevenge wrote:Typical epoxyland bureaucracy, it took longer to clear from customs than to arrive here from Japan

Now you're going to have fun with Epoxyland imposing import tax. :roll:
  • 0

Does that thing kinda look like a big cat to you?
User avatar
Ragnarok
Chief of Staff
Chief of Staff
 
Posts: 5339
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2006 8:23 am
Location: The UK
Reputation: 8

Unread postAuthor: Insomniac » Tue Jan 26, 2010 8:07 am

Yeah, I've heard that the EpoxyLand customs are real sticklers for paperwork...
sorry, couldn't resist...

Anyway, onto your questions. No, the camera does not come with a card unless the person you bought it from decided to include one. It does have a small amount of internal memory however.

Just tested the size for you... approximately 10 seconds of real-time recording comes out to about 56.5 mb, and the end result is about 2 and a half minutes of footage. 4gb is perfectly adequate, and is all I use (I have 2 cards but have only needed both when recording a lot of HD footage, which really sucks up the gigabytes). Just make sure you get a card with a decent read/write speed, or you'll start dropping frames. Not sure on what the minimum speed is, but I'm using SanDisk Ultra II's and haven't had any issues (the little LED will go yellow when recording and dropping frames, if memory serves. This hasn't happened on these cards).
  • 0

I wonder how much deeper the ocean would be without sponges.
Right now I'm having amnesia and deja vu at the same time. I think I've forgotten this before.

Add me on msn!!! insomniac-55@hotmail.com
User avatar
Insomniac
Major General
Major General
 
Posts: 1297
Joined: Mon Dec 18, 2006 3:47 pm
Location: Australia
Country: Australia (au)
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: jackssmirkingrevenge » Tue Jan 26, 2010 8:49 am

Ragnarok wrote:Now you're going to have fun with Epoxyland imposing import tax. :roll:


Probably, but since it was 160 euros including shipping from ebay and 300 euros locally, I still think it will be worth it.

Yeah, I've heard that the EpoxyLand customs are real sticklers for paperwork...


Grab your coat :P :D

I hope to have some footage by tonight, if not definitely tomorrow :)
  • 0

User avatar
jackssmirkingrevenge
Donating Member
Donating Member
 
Posts: 24225
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 11:28 pm
Country: Holy See (Vatican City State) (va)
Reputation: 66

Unread postAuthor: Insomniac » Tue Jan 26, 2010 9:05 am

But it's already tomorrow! :D
  • 0

I wonder how much deeper the ocean would be without sponges.
Right now I'm having amnesia and deja vu at the same time. I think I've forgotten this before.

Add me on msn!!! insomniac-55@hotmail.com
User avatar
Insomniac
Major General
Major General
 
Posts: 1297
Joined: Mon Dec 18, 2006 3:47 pm
Location: Australia
Country: Australia (au)
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: Ragnarok » Tue Jan 26, 2010 9:06 am

jackssmirkingrevenge wrote:Probably, but since it was 160 euros including shipping from ebay and 300 euros locally, I still think it will be worth it.

Damn, last I looked, I recalled the prices being significantly higher than that. Shame that I still can't justify even that kind of money.
  • 0

Does that thing kinda look like a big cat to you?
User avatar
Ragnarok
Chief of Staff
Chief of Staff
 
Posts: 5339
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2006 8:23 am
Location: The UK
Reputation: 8

Unread postAuthor: jackssmirkingrevenge » Tue Jan 26, 2010 11:34 am

I has camera! woo! charging as we speak :)

Customs charges were 35 euros so I still saved 105 euros off buying locally :)
  • 0

User avatar
jackssmirkingrevenge
Donating Member
Donating Member
 
Posts: 24225
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 11:28 pm
Country: Holy See (Vatican City State) (va)
Reputation: 66

Sponsored

Sponsor
 


Unread postAuthor: jackssmirkingrevenge » Tue Jan 26, 2010 2:47 pm

Here's my first attempt at 210 fps :D

[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UI-UzoUF7ZQ[/youtube]

Unfortunately the lighting in my room is too bad for faster frame rates, it's only during the weekend that I'm home when there's sufficient lighting in winter.

I love this camera, thank you for bringing it to my attention :D

Since file sizes have grown and there's a lot of potential for useless footage, I'm going to have to have an editing facility - what do you guys use?
  • 0

User avatar
jackssmirkingrevenge
Donating Member
Donating Member
 
Posts: 24225
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 11:28 pm
Country: Holy See (Vatican City State) (va)
Reputation: 66

Unread postAuthor: Ragnarok » Tue Jan 26, 2010 3:21 pm

jackssmirkingrevenge wrote:Unfortunately the lighting in my room is too bad for faster frame rates...

Flourescent lights do that. I'm no great fan of them myself, as they're right on the edge of me being able to see them flickering.

Since file sizes have grown and there's a lot of potential for useless footage, I'm going to have to have an editing facility - what do you guys use?

I believe that Windows Movie Maker is a free download if you've got the right Windows operating system.

It's not a good editor, but it'll perform basic tasks, such as trimming footage or stitching together a few videos.
  • 0

Does that thing kinda look like a big cat to you?
User avatar
Ragnarok
Chief of Staff
Chief of Staff
 
Posts: 5339
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2006 8:23 am
Location: The UK
Reputation: 8

Unread postAuthor: jackssmirkingrevenge » Tue Jan 26, 2010 3:34 pm

I'm making do with an evaluation version of ezsplitter.

[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PP9epVPQ1cY[/youtube]

:D

And, of course, I had to :)

[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p1ZUXuXZ6BY[/youtube]
  • 0

User avatar
jackssmirkingrevenge
Donating Member
Donating Member
 
Posts: 24225
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 11:28 pm
Country: Holy See (Vatican City State) (va)
Reputation: 66

Unread postAuthor: ramses » Tue Jan 26, 2010 4:18 pm

Ragnarok wrote:Flourescent lights do that. I'm no great fan of them myself, as they're right on the edge of me being able to see them flickering.


That is mostly true, with the long tube style lights opperating at 50/60hz, depending on where you live. Some compact flourescents opperate in the khz range. Ideally you would use natural light, but incandescent or halogen seems to work fairly well. It still flickers, but it is much less noticeable.

Since file sizes have grown and there's a lot of potential for useless footage, I'm going to have to have an editing facility - what do you guys use?

I believe that Windows Movie Maker is a free download if you've got the right Windows operating system.

It's not a good editor, but it'll perform basic tasks, such as trimming footage or stitching together a few videos.



NOOOOO!!!!!! :pukeleft: :sad3: At least my version really sucks at it. What it does is it distorts the movie until it is the "correct" 4:3-ish ratio that it likes. That doesn't sound too bad, but considering the 1000fps movies are around a 7:2 aspect ratio, it really screws up the image. I am currently hopping between free trials, looking for something I like, but I can recommend sony vegas pro (>$600). The videos under My Hybrid use this software. Barring that :D , My trial of Corel Video Studio 12 is working decently. It is kind of a pain to flip the vertical video, then crop the part you want, but it is less than $100. Here and Here are links to the corel ones. I am going to try the next lower version of Sony Vegas next.


Probably, but since it was 160 euros including shipping from ebay and 300 euros locally


I got my EX-F1 from hong kong for ~$600, + ~$200 shipping. customs was only ~$12, and it was STILL $200 cheaper than in the states.

As to the resolution debate, I am in marching band, and a professional photographer showed up. He had a canon 50D and a crazy expensive 300mm f2.8, and sold a ~720p image online for around $3. He offered a reasonably high res image for ~$20. No, I didn't ask him/recognize the camera he had. I simply looked in the EXIF data...

My parents, not consulting me, bought the small one, which ended up being 540x360!?! and expected it to print on a full page. Bottom line, I did some s bicubic resampling, around 20% each time on the image in GIMP, up to 3.9MP, and it printed fine. It didn't really bring out any more details, but it prevented the pixel look. I suppose it was like anti-aliasing on steroids. bottom line: Give me a 6MP DSLR over a 25MP compact any day as long as I don't have to put it in my pocket.


On a completely random note, I am getting frustrated with the aspect ratio of my 1200FPS mode. Can anyone think of an easy way to make a filter adapter type thing that would re-arrange the image the sensor sees in the way described in the picture? This could be split and un-done in post, giving a final video with a more normal aspect ratio.
  • 0

Attachments
lens idea.JPG
lens idea.JPG (8.34 KiB) Viewed 382 times
POLAND_SPUD wrote:even if there was no link I'd know it's a bot because of female name :D
User avatar
ramses
Major General
Major General
 
Posts: 1679
Joined: Thu May 29, 2008 6:50 pm
Reputation: 3

Unread postAuthor: jackssmirkingrevenge » Tue Jan 26, 2010 4:58 pm

A couple more shots using 0.25g airsoft BBs from one of my first 6mm co-axial minis, first shot is single, second is 5 BBs in one barrel. Shot at 420 fps with halogen lighting, much better :) I think I'll try the combustion cartridge again.

[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FjL-9iD4SUo[/youtube]


[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bn3kZ0KXUa8[/youtube]

edit: cartridge combustion at 420 fps

[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kghcrttWyZE[/youtube]
  • 0

User avatar
jackssmirkingrevenge
Donating Member
Donating Member
 
Posts: 24225
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 11:28 pm
Country: Holy See (Vatican City State) (va)
Reputation: 66

Unread postAuthor: Insomniac » Tue Jan 26, 2010 6:46 pm

I like!

For really basic editing, such as trimming the clip to size, you can just use the in-camera trimming function. Doesn't ruin your quality and is quick. To use it, I think you pause the video as it plays, then press either down or up on the directional pad (can't remember which). Unfortunately you can't do any other editing within the camera, only trimming.
  • 0

I wonder how much deeper the ocean would be without sponges.
Right now I'm having amnesia and deja vu at the same time. I think I've forgotten this before.

Add me on msn!!! insomniac-55@hotmail.com
User avatar
Insomniac
Major General
Major General
 
Posts: 1297
Joined: Mon Dec 18, 2006 3:47 pm
Location: Australia
Country: Australia (au)
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: jrrdw » Tue Jan 26, 2010 6:54 pm

Does your editing software allow you to play the video in reverse after playing it forward?
  • 0

When life gives you lemons...throw them back they suck!
User avatar
jrrdw
Donating Moderator
Donating Moderator
 
Posts: 6538
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 5:11 pm
Location: Maryland
Country: United States (us)
Reputation: 25

Unread postAuthor: Insomniac » Tue Jan 26, 2010 7:26 pm

ramses wrote:On a completely random note, I am getting frustrated with the aspect ratio of my 1200FPS mode. Can anyone think of an easy way to make a filter adapter type thing that would re-arrange the image the sensor sees in the way described in the picture? This could be split and un-done in post, giving a final video with a more normal aspect ratio.


Not sure on that, the two ways I can see going about this are to use either mirrors or prisms... Perhaps you could buy a cheap set of binoculars which use prisms and hack them apart to try and get it to do what you want? I can't see either method ending up being either compact or simple though...
  • 0

I wonder how much deeper the ocean would be without sponges.
Right now I'm having amnesia and deja vu at the same time. I think I've forgotten this before.

Add me on msn!!! insomniac-55@hotmail.com
User avatar
Insomniac
Major General
Major General
 
Posts: 1297
Joined: Mon Dec 18, 2006 3:47 pm
Location: Australia
Country: Australia (au)
Reputation: 0

PreviousNext

Return to Non-Spudgun Related Discussion

Who is online

Registered users: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], Yahoo [Bot]

Reputation System ©'