Login    Register
User Information
Username:
Password:
We are a free and open
community, all are welcome.
Click here to Register
Sponsored
Who is online

In total there are 65 users online :: 3 registered, 0 hidden and 62 guests


Most users ever online was 155 on Mon Aug 15, 2016 1:40 am

Registered users: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], Yahoo [Bot] based on users active over the past 5 minutes

The Team
Administrators
Global Moderators
global_moderators.png CS

Help removing 'timer' from compressor

All non-spudgun related discussion goes here such as projects, theories, serious questions, etc. All "off-topic" posts (aka useless posting, determined by moderators) will be removed.
Sponsored 
  • Author
    Message

Help removing 'timer' from compressor

Unread postAuthor: Matt_NZ » Sat Aug 14, 2010 10:40 pm

Hey, it's been awhile since I've been at spud files.
I stop by to hopefully obtain help in bypassing the timer on this compressor, which I savaged from an old dehumidifier.

The compressor starts after roughly 3minutes, this may be a relay or something obvious like that. With these pictures below hopefully someone with a bit of electronics knowledge will see a way to simply bypass the 'timer'.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image
  • 0

User avatar
Matt_NZ
Corporal
Corporal
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2010 4:42 am
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: bighead33 » Sat Aug 14, 2010 11:47 pm

it would be easier to tell you if i had a circuit diagram but just off the top of my head it might be the capacitors charging or that IC but it's hard to tell.[/img]
  • 0

User avatar
bighead33
Sergeant
Sergeant
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 2:24 pm
Location: Stonemountain, Ga
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: Matt_NZ » Sun Aug 15, 2010 12:27 am

bighead33 wrote:it would be easier to tell you if i had a circuit diagram but just off the top of my head it might be the capacitors charging or that IC but it's hard to tell.[/img]


Sorry, Can't do anything about the circuit diagram. Would it help if i said the time varies before the compressor turns on (2.30-3min).
  • 0

User avatar
Matt_NZ
Corporal
Corporal
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2010 4:42 am
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: jackssmirkingrevenge » Sun Aug 15, 2010 12:34 am

I know bugger all about electronics, but from where I'm standing it looks like you can just take the red and white wires and wire them directly into the plug.

Awaiting some expert advice on how horribly wrong I am :roll:
  • 0

User avatar
jackssmirkingrevenge
Donating Member
Donating Member
 
Posts: 24225
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 11:28 pm
Country: Holy See (Vatican City State) (va)
Reputation: 66

Unread postAuthor: Matt_NZ » Sun Aug 15, 2010 1:49 am

I know bugger all about electronics, but from where I'm standing it looks like you can just take the red and white wires and wire them directly into the plug.

Awaiting some expert advice on how horribly wrong I am :roll:


You might be on the right track. My instinct is that the neutral (comp) is switched. Perhaps if i just use the neutral from the fan instead it may work.
  • 0

User avatar
Matt_NZ
Corporal
Corporal
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2010 4:42 am
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: Crna Legija » Sun Aug 15, 2010 4:38 am

Does it still have the thermostat on it, if so you have to cut it off and put your switch there to turn on/off
  • 0

'' To alcohol... The cause of, and solution to, all of life's problems.”
--Homer Simpson

Add me on ps3: wannafuk, 8/11/11 cant wait
User avatar
Crna Legija
Major General
Major General
 
Posts: 2333
Joined: Sun Jul 20, 2008 5:14 am
Location: australia
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: Heimo » Sun Aug 15, 2010 4:45 am

lose the control board and manually wire it up....

here is a basic diagram on how to wire one of these up

Image
  • 0

The voices in my head may not be real, but they have some good ideas!
User avatar
Heimo
2nd Lieutenant
2nd Lieutenant
 
Posts: 242
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2009 3:02 pm
Reputation: 0

Sponsored

Sponsor
 


Unread postAuthor: POLAND_SPUD » Sun Aug 15, 2010 5:39 am

@JSR
heh, that's what I'd do
If the compressor a 3 pin connection then you just need one of these http://www.spudfiles.com/forums/viewtop ... tml#245328
  • 0

Children are the future

unless we stop them now
User avatar
POLAND_SPUD
Chief of Staff
Chief of Staff
 
Posts: 5405
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2007 4:43 pm
Country: Israel (il)
Reputation: 10

Unread postAuthor: Matt_NZ » Sun Aug 15, 2010 4:00 pm

Heimo wrote:lose the control board and manually wire it up....

here is a basic diagram on how to wire one of these up

Image


Looks good, I have to clarify a few things though.
What is the overload protector? Is there one on the circuit board that I can remove? And same question for the relay basically i.e. Do you see one on the circuit board I can remove?

Also the voltage is 220-240v/50hz and 1.3A current, so is it good to go straight from the wall plug?
  • 0

User avatar
Matt_NZ
Corporal
Corporal
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2010 4:42 am
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: jimmy101 » Sun Aug 15, 2010 4:09 pm

Looks like the circuit board is just a timer, nothing that looks like a power supply or anything like that. So you should be able to just omit the circuit board completely. Also omit the micro switch.

Looks to me like the brown wire from the main switch goes to the red wire of the compressor. The white wire on the compressor goes to the blue wire of the power plug.

Does the compressor label say 240V?
  • 0

Image

jimmy101
Lieutenant General
Lieutenant General
 
Posts: 3128
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 9:48 am
Location: Greenwood, Indiana
Country: United States (us)
Reputation: 7

Unread postAuthor: Matt_NZ » Sun Aug 15, 2010 4:19 pm

POLAND_SPUD wrote:@JSR
heh, that's what I'd do
If the compressor a 3 pin connection then you just need one of these http://www.spudfiles.com/forums/viewtop ... tml#245328


2 pin, from the neutral wire. Maybe it still does the same thing?

Image
  • 0

User avatar
Matt_NZ
Corporal
Corporal
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2010 4:42 am
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: Matt_NZ » Sun Aug 15, 2010 4:22 pm

jimmy101 wrote:Looks like the circuit board is just a timer, nothing that looks like a power supply or anything like that. So you should be able to just omit the circuit board completely. Also omit the micro switch.

Looks to me like the brown wire from the main switch goes to the red wire of the compressor. The white wire on the compressor goes to the blue wire of the power plug.

Does the compressor label say 240V?


It says 220-240v ~50hz :o
  • 0

User avatar
Matt_NZ
Corporal
Corporal
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2010 4:42 am
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: al-xg » Sun Aug 15, 2010 4:25 pm

Yep thats it, red, white comming from the relay and earth is all you need.
  • 0

User avatar
al-xg
Colonel
Colonel
 
Posts: 643
Joined: Fri Jan 19, 2007 12:29 pm
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: Technician1002 » Sun Aug 15, 2010 11:23 pm

To make it simple, I modified your wire diagram. The de-ice is a timer to shut off the compressor to defrost it on a regular cycle. Remove the board and tie the wires together as shown. This will connect power directly to the compressor without the timer.
  • 0

Attachments
deice.jpg
Removal of the de-ice timer.
User avatar
Technician1002
Chief of Staff
Chief of Staff
 
Posts: 5190
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2009 11:10 am
Reputation: 14

Unread postAuthor: Matt_NZ » Mon Aug 16, 2010 2:14 am

Technician1002 wrote:To make it simple, I modified your wire diagram. The de-ice is a timer to shut off the compressor to defrost it on a regular cycle. Remove the board and tie the wires together as shown. This will connect power directly to the compressor without the timer.


Thanks, Techician. That will come in handy.
  • 0

User avatar
Matt_NZ
Corporal
Corporal
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2010 4:42 am
Reputation: 0

Return to Non-Spudgun Related Discussion

Who is online

Registered users: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], Yahoo [Bot]

Reputation System ©'