Login    Register
User Information
Username:
Password:
We are a free and open
community, all are welcome.
Click here to Register
Sponsored
Who is online

In total there are 39 users online :: 3 registered, 0 hidden and 36 guests


Most users ever online was 218 on Wed Dec 07, 2016 6:58 pm

Registered users: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], Yahoo [Bot] based on users active over the past 5 minutes

The Team
Administrators
Global Moderators
global_moderators.png CS

High pressure Fridge compressor (1020 PSI/ 70 bar and more)

All non-spudgun related discussion goes here such as projects, theories, serious questions, etc. All "off-topic" posts (aka useless posting, determined by moderators) will be removed.
Sponsored 
  • Author
    Message

Unread postAuthor: jackssmirkingrevenge » Tue Sep 25, 2012 12:53 am

Wow, looks like it's a year older than my Landrover :D

Step one is to remove it. Cut all the copper pipes coming out of it (if you use a saw, try not to let the shavings get in the pipe - best to use a pipe cutter) - note that it contains gas under pressure so let it bleed out first. Make sure you leave enough length of pipe attached to the compressor to let you attach fittings later on.

Step two is to undo the bolts at the "feet" - the ones holding it to the bottom plate of the fridge - then remove the plastic cover on the right to see what the 'lectrics look like.
  • 0

User avatar
jackssmirkingrevenge
Donating Member
Donating Member
 
Posts: 24225
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 11:28 pm
Country: Holy See (Vatican City State) (va)
Reputation: 66

Unread postAuthor: ozzioutlaw » Thu Sep 27, 2012 12:02 am

I'll get onto that tonight thanks havnt been able to do anything for last few days due to car dramas but ill upload another pic when its out and see see were to go from their
  • 0


ozzioutlaw
Private
Private
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 5:25 am
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: ozzioutlaw » Thu Sep 27, 2012 8:23 am

All out and ready to go their is one copper pipe that's sealed one question.... Does it stay sealed
  • 0

Attachments
IMAG0050.jpg

ozzioutlaw
Private
Private
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 5:25 am
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: POLAND_SPUD » Thu Sep 27, 2012 11:54 am

yeah keep it that way - there is always one tube that's sealed/crimped... it was used to fill the refrigeration circuit with refrigerant
  • 0

Children are the future

unless we stop them now
User avatar
POLAND_SPUD
Chief of Staff
Chief of Staff
 
Posts: 5405
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2007 4:43 pm
Country: Israel (il)
Reputation: 10

Unread postAuthor: Zeus » Thu Sep 27, 2012 6:04 pm

It doesn't matter if it gets cut, it'll just work as another input, but you'll need a filter on it too.
  • 0

/sarcasm, /hyperbole
User avatar
Zeus
Major General
Major General
 
Posts: 1422
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2009 7:34 pm
Location: 'Straya, C*nt
Reputation: 2

Unread postAuthor: ozzioutlaw » Fri Sep 28, 2012 4:28 am

Ok all done any one any good with wires ??? I have no idea wat this lil round thing is is it the thermostat for if it gets to hot it switches off.
  • 0

Attachments
IMAG0055.jpg

ozzioutlaw
Private
Private
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 5:25 am
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: Zeus » Fri Sep 28, 2012 5:59 am

Can I get some more details on the wires? I'll tell you which ones.

If it was held against the compressor, then it's the thermostat. I suppose you could bypass it, but you don't need to.
  • 0

/sarcasm, /hyperbole
User avatar
Zeus
Major General
Major General
 
Posts: 1422
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2009 7:34 pm
Location: 'Straya, C*nt
Reputation: 2

Sponsored

Sponsor
 


Unread postAuthor: ozzioutlaw » Fri Sep 28, 2012 6:20 am

2 Brown wires off compressor then 2 black wires off compressor one of the black wires connected to round sensor thingy then grey wire off sensor thingy so I'm left with a black wire and 2 Brown wires I can turn into one because the come from the same connection but its the two black wires that have me stumped one to round sensor and one to nothin but both come off the same point
  • 0


ozzioutlaw
Private
Private
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 5:25 am
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: ozzioutlaw » Fri Sep 28, 2012 6:23 am

Sorry no the black one with a sensor cones off the middle of the gold coil and the other black wire comes off the main terminal
  • 0

Attachments
IMAG0056.jpg

ozzioutlaw
Private
Private
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 5:25 am
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: POLAND_SPUD » Fri Sep 28, 2012 7:05 am

no offence but peple have tendency to take the least useful pics when asked to show wiring :D


Image
here you had enclosure on - I see some cable there that most likely is the power cord.

There should also be a cable that ran to the thermostat inside the fridge - can you find it ??

how many wires it has ?? 2 or 3 ?
  • 0

Children are the future

unless we stop them now
User avatar
POLAND_SPUD
Chief of Staff
Chief of Staff
 
Posts: 5405
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2007 4:43 pm
Country: Israel (il)
Reputation: 10

Unread postAuthor: ozzioutlaw » Fri Sep 28, 2012 7:11 am

Na its gone next time I I won't ask a mate to take it apart lol
  • 0


ozzioutlaw
Private
Private
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 5:25 am
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: Zeus » Fri Sep 28, 2012 7:38 am

The brown wire goes to active, and either of those black wires should go to neutral. Do the brown wires attach to the steel case of the compressor, or to the inductor (coil).

I'd bet it's the black wire from the thermal fuse. Give it a shot.
  • 0

/sarcasm, /hyperbole
User avatar
Zeus
Major General
Major General
 
Posts: 1422
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2009 7:34 pm
Location: 'Straya, C*nt
Reputation: 2

Unread postAuthor: dewey-1 » Fri Sep 28, 2012 12:12 pm

Do you know what brand and model the refrigerator is?
A close up picture of any printing like the black cover and the mounting base which has printing on it may help.

Was there a start capacitor?
Did the refrigerator have a fan on it originally?

It should work if the grey wire is hooked to the hot main power and one of the browns to the main neutral.

A safety earth ground from the main power cord to the metal chassis should also be used. Green wire is safety ground.

The other Black and Brown were probably used for the interior light or fan or a start cap. That is why more information is useful.

It appears the compressor was made on 12-15-77.
The HA401 AR does not show up on any Google search, probably because it is almost 35 years old and no known replacement. Well past its normal lifespan.
  • 0

User avatar
dewey-1
Major General
Major General
 
Posts: 1298
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 10:24 am
Location: NE Wisconsin USA
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: ozzioutlaw » Sat Sep 29, 2012 6:21 am

Ok all done now just connections on the air outlet any one got any ideas
  • 0


ozzioutlaw
Private
Private
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 5:25 am
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: Zeus » Sat Sep 29, 2012 8:01 am

Braze on a 1/4" plug drilled out to the tube diameter.
  • 0

/sarcasm, /hyperbole
User avatar
Zeus
Major General
Major General
 
Posts: 1422
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2009 7:34 pm
Location: 'Straya, C*nt
Reputation: 2

PreviousNext

Return to Non-Spudgun Related Discussion

Who is online

Registered users: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], Yahoo [Bot]

Reputation System ©'