Login    Register
User Information
Username:
Password:
We are a free and open
community, all are welcome.
Click here to Register
Sponsored
Who is online

In total there are 55 users online :: 4 registered, 0 hidden and 51 guests


Most users ever online was 155 on Mon Aug 15, 2016 1:40 am

Registered users: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot], Yahoo [Bot] based on users active over the past 5 minutes

The Team
Administrators
Global Moderators
global_moderators.png CS

High pressure Fridge compressor (1020 PSI/ 70 bar and more)

All non-spudgun related discussion goes here such as projects, theories, serious questions, etc. All "off-topic" posts (aka useless posting, determined by moderators) will be removed.
Sponsored 
  • Author
    Message

High pressure Fridge compressor (1020 PSI/ 70 bar and more)

Unread postAuthor: higure » Mon Aug 16, 2010 8:24 am

Hi all!

Since a moment I looked for a means to exceed 40 bar, my compressor of refrigerator did not rise higher,

But with al-xg and biduleohm we thought about the assembly of fridge compressor “in series”, but it raised some problems of resistance of materials. …

But after reading some topics on spudfiles, Google,… and few hours of reflection ^^ …we had an idea:

[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hOdkVXfQdzw&feature=player_embedded[/youtube]

[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lrQl5CfqDfI&NR=1[/youtube]


On the video I am limited by my pressure gauge, but I want to buy an other pressure gauge (120 bar= 1800 PSI)


This assembly was above all planned for the first tests, but one certain numbers of "vital" things is missing to avoid a lot of accidents:

- I advise you to add safety valves downstream, and\or disks of break.

- it is imperative to have many pressure gauge to control the pressure upstream and downstream, first of all for your physical integrity but also to avoid slamming the compressor

- it is also necessary to watch the temperature of the compressor, for it thingy recommends to put one certain numbers of sensors (thermo contact of coffeepot for example) which will cut the cp in case of too extreme temperature

- it is also necessary to plan of what to cool the compressor if you wish to increase its life cycle, to plunge it into the oil can be a solution thanks to the properties of not conductivity of the mineral oil.

Sorry for my bad english ;).
  • 0

User avatar
higure
Private
Private
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 12:38 pm
Location: France
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: Gun Freak » Mon Aug 16, 2010 8:30 am

The english is fine, and I watched these videos on youtube already. I am subscribed to spudfiles members. This is pretty impressive, do you have a certain gun to use this pressure on or will you fill a HP tank and regulate it to fill a gun?
  • 0

OG Anti-Hybrid
One man's trash is a true Spudder's treasure!
Golf Ball Cannon "Superna"M16 BBMGPengunHammer Valve Airsoft SniperHigh Pressure .22 Coax
Holy Shat!
User avatar
Gun Freak
Lieutenant General
Lieutenant General
 
Posts: 4969
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 4:38 pm
Location: Florida
Country: United States (us)
Reputation: 11

Unread postAuthor: higure » Mon Aug 16, 2010 8:52 am

I have already made several spudgun, the last one is presented here: ;)

Http://www.spudfiles.com/forums/viewtopic,p,295606.html

But I think that I will make another, for shot to 60 bar, more solid…

And I have already a HP tank, it's a co2 fire extinguisher with a MIG regulator:

Image

Image



But I think that I will buy material of paintball ;).

For the moment I want using it for my high pressure flame thrower...
  • 0

User avatar
higure
Private
Private
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 12:38 pm
Location: France
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: Crna Legija » Mon Aug 16, 2010 9:48 am

OMG the first video was quiet so i put my volume up and then in the second one the bells made me sh!t my self :oops: :D

down to business thats some serous pressure make sure your new projets can handle that, it would be devastating if it went south

how much adjustment do you get with a mig reg?
  • 0

'' To alcohol... The cause of, and solution to, all of life's problems.”
--Homer Simpson

Add me on ps3: wannafuk, 8/11/11 cant wait
User avatar
Crna Legija
Major General
Major General
 
Posts: 2333
Joined: Sun Jul 20, 2008 5:14 am
Location: australia
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: higure » Mon Aug 16, 2010 10:08 am

Sorry for the bells :lol:

With the mig reg I could adjust the pressure between 0 and 30 bar

Image

(I had the reg on ebay for 10€ = 12$ :D )
  • 0

User avatar
higure
Private
Private
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 12:38 pm
Location: France
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: POLAND_SPUD » Mon Aug 16, 2010 10:26 am

this is madness!! :D
3 or 4 years ago when I posted my original thread I knew they can squeeze out more than just 300 psi (hence '... 300 psi and more' in the title) but I didn't expect that much


it is also necessary to plan of what to cool the compressor if you wish to increase its life cycle, to plunge it into the oil can be a solution thanks to the properties of not conductivity of the mineral oil.

yeap, oil or water :wink:
  • 0

Children are the future

unless we stop them now
User avatar
POLAND_SPUD
Chief of Staff
Chief of Staff
 
Posts: 5405
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2007 4:43 pm
Country: Israel (il)
Reputation: 10

Unread postAuthor: Ragnarok » Mon Aug 16, 2010 11:18 am

I've got to go out now so I can't comment more right now, but what kind of volume is this putting out in a minute?

higure wrote:Sorry for the bells :lol:

Sounds like an amateur performance of Pink Floyd's "High Hopes"...
  • 0

Does that thing kinda look like a big cat to you?
User avatar
Ragnarok
Chief of Staff
Chief of Staff
 
Posts: 5339
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2006 8:23 am
Location: The UK
Reputation: 8

Sponsored

Sponsor
 


Unread postAuthor: al-xg » Mon Aug 16, 2010 11:28 am

The added inlet pressure seems to act mainly on the dead volume limitation, the compressor will still shut off (overheat switch) at a certain pressure even if the inlet pressure is increased, wich seems to show a lack of power from the motor. (the casing doesn't have to be hot for this to happen, the switch kicks in whether the compressor has been running for a few seconds or a few hours)
So the max pressure still depends on the compressor's power to begin with.

The compressor I ran initial tests on (max single stage pressure of 650psi) cuts out at approx 1000psi with 2bar inlet. Raising pressure to 4bar doesn't help.
The extra pressure helps at first, but then if more is added it ends up being too much work, the compressor tried to draw more current and shuts off.

Added pressure does considerably speed up the compression process, a 1.14L HPA paintball tank can be filled to 1000psi within seconds with under 5bar inlet pressure.

Ah didn't see Rag's post.
Well it obviously depends on the input pressure. I guess I'll have to measure the fill time next time :)
  • 0

User avatar
al-xg
Colonel
Colonel
 
Posts: 643
Joined: Fri Jan 19, 2007 12:29 pm
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: ramses » Wed Aug 18, 2010 4:14 pm

That is an amazing fill rate! I bet the thermal cutoff switch trips a few seconds after the motor stalls.

Now if only there was an easy way to replace the motor with one with MOAR TORQUE......!
  • 0

POLAND_SPUD wrote:even if there was no link I'd know it's a bot because of female name :D
User avatar
ramses
Major General
Major General
 
Posts: 1679
Joined: Thu May 29, 2008 6:50 pm
Reputation: 3

Unread postAuthor: Heimo » Wed Aug 18, 2010 4:39 pm

ramses wrote:
Now if only there was an easy way to replace the motor with one with MOAR TORQUE......!


well I watched 9 videos on youtube detailing how these look and work on the inside, and I came to the following conclusion:
it would be possible to use a different motor on a fridge compressor, tho it would not be an easy task to accomplish this. To accomplish this you would have to rig a different lubrication system, cause the stock motor draws the oil up through the shaft and if you switched the motors, the compressor would no longer receive any oil, so it would seize very rapidly.
I have my own idea on how I would mod some fridge compressors, but that requires actually owning a few to experiment on (I don't).

Basically it would come down to: new lube system, new motor, new shell and the compressor intake would also require some modding (convenience sake so you wont have to make your new shell pressure rated) and a few other minor things that I cannot think of right now
  • 0

The voices in my head may not be real, but they have some good ideas!
User avatar
Heimo
2nd Lieutenant
2nd Lieutenant
 
Posts: 242
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2009 3:02 pm
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: Ragnarok » Wed Aug 18, 2010 5:03 pm

ramses wrote:That is an amazing fill rate!

I think it's only filling a tiny volume - a few cubic centimetres at most really.
  • 0

Does that thing kinda look like a big cat to you?
User avatar
Ragnarok
Chief of Staff
Chief of Staff
 
Posts: 5339
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2006 8:23 am
Location: The UK
Reputation: 8

Unread postAuthor: ramses » Fri Aug 20, 2010 1:29 pm

Ragnarok wrote:
ramses wrote:That is an amazing fill rate!

I think it's only filling a tiny volume - a few cubic centimetres at most really.


I meant this

Added pressure does considerably speed up the compression process, a 1.14L HPA paintball tank can be filled to 1000psi within seconds with under 5bar inlet pressure.


with regard to MOAR TORQUE, I wonder how challenging it would be to bring the drive-shaft outside the casing with an extension and connect it to a small gasoline engine. Obviously seals would be in order.
  • 0

POLAND_SPUD wrote:even if there was no link I'd know it's a bot because of female name :D
User avatar
ramses
Major General
Major General
 
Posts: 1679
Joined: Thu May 29, 2008 6:50 pm
Reputation: 3

Unread postAuthor: ozzioutlaw » Mon Sep 24, 2012 8:38 am

hey guys hows every 1???? are these hard to set up?
  • 0


ozzioutlaw
Private
Private
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 5:25 am
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: jackssmirkingrevenge » Mon Sep 24, 2012 3:17 pm

Best thing is to show us your compressor.

Two basic things you need to do:

1) figure out the wiring, you have to be able to connect it to the mains independently of the thermostat. For convenience you can add a switch to the circuit rather than just turning it on by plugging it in, or if you're feeling really fancy add a pressure switch.

2) connect the appropriate hose and a connector to the air outlet, adding a pressure gauge to this area is also a good idea especially if you don't have a gauge on your launcher.
  • 0

User avatar
jackssmirkingrevenge
Donating Member
Donating Member
 
Posts: 24225
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 11:28 pm
Country: Holy See (Vatican City State) (va)
Reputation: 66

Unread postAuthor: ozzioutlaw » Mon Sep 24, 2012 6:04 pm

This is it
  • 0

Attachments
IMAG0049.jpg

ozzioutlaw
Private
Private
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 5:25 am
Reputation: 0

Next

Return to Non-Spudgun Related Discussion

Who is online

Registered users: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot], Yahoo [Bot]

Reputation System ©'