Login    Register
User Information
Username:
Password:
We are a free and open
community, all are welcome.
Click here to Register
Sponsored
Who is online

In total there are 82 users online :: 7 registered, 0 hidden and 75 guests


Most users ever online was 218 on Wed Dec 07, 2016 6:58 pm

Registered users: Bing [Bot], Exabot [Bot], Google [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot], Majestic-12 [Bot], MSNbot Media, Yahoo [Bot] based on users active over the past 5 minutes

The Team
Administrators
Global Moderators
global_moderators.png CS

Ubuntu

All non-spudgun related discussion goes here such as projects, theories, serious questions, etc. All "off-topic" posts (aka useless posting, determined by moderators) will be removed.
Sponsored 
  • Author
    Message

Ubuntu

Unread postAuthor: mattyzip77 » Thu Apr 19, 2012 2:56 pm

Is anyone familiar with ubuntu?? Im pretty sure its a lenux based computer. Anyhow, to make a long story short, I have this and now I am unable to get online??? Help or suggestions would be appreciated???
  • 0

Go Bruins!!!!
User avatar
mattyzip77
Donating Member
Donating Member
 
Posts: 1249
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2011 12:22 pm
Location: Taxachusetts
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: warhead052 » Thu Apr 19, 2012 2:58 pm

Its Firefox based internet, I assume you know the logo? If this is the version I had, it should be on the left hand side. If that doesn't work, check to make sure your internet is plugged in.
  • 0


warhead052
Major General
Major General
 
Posts: 1769
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2011 5:41 pm
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: jakethebeast » Thu Apr 19, 2012 3:00 pm

Yes, Ubuntu is Linux based system, looks have that you havent installed it properly, do it again.


YAY for finnish operating systems :wink:
  • 0

Est Sularus Oth Mithas
User avatar
jakethebeast
Brigadier General
Brigadier General
 
Posts: 934
Joined: Sat Jul 03, 2010 4:20 pm
Location: Jakes cave
Country: Finland (fi)
Reputation: 11

Unread postAuthor: mattyzip77 » Thu Apr 19, 2012 3:28 pm

I was using it for months, and it just stopped. I keep getting a "server not found" message
  • 0

Go Bruins!!!!
User avatar
mattyzip77
Donating Member
Donating Member
 
Posts: 1249
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2011 12:22 pm
Location: Taxachusetts
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: jakethebeast » Thu Apr 19, 2012 3:38 pm

Tried updating it?
  • 0

Est Sularus Oth Mithas
User avatar
jakethebeast
Brigadier General
Brigadier General
 
Posts: 934
Joined: Sat Jul 03, 2010 4:20 pm
Location: Jakes cave
Country: Finland (fi)
Reputation: 11

Unread postAuthor: mattyzip77 » Thu Apr 19, 2012 3:40 pm

yes, it wont let me online, server not found, firefox cannot find the server at www.ubuntu.com
  • 0

Go Bruins!!!!
User avatar
mattyzip77
Donating Member
Donating Member
 
Posts: 1249
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2011 12:22 pm
Location: Taxachusetts
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: Fnord » Thu Apr 19, 2012 5:51 pm

Disclaimer: I use kubuntu but I am not a linux geek. I think tech uses some similar 'nix os so you might ask him.

Try opening your network manager and play with the settings under the connection you're using. You may need to just remove and re-add your network. If you're using wifi, try resetting your router.
Other than that, re-install FF, or try another browser. If all else fails you could just re-install your whole OS, but that's probably an overkill solution. Ask on the Ubuntu forums! :P

On a somewhat-sarcastic note, how the hell did you manage to install and use ubuntu for so long without even being sure what it is!? lol
  • 0

Last edited by Fnord on Thu Apr 19, 2012 5:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image
User avatar
Fnord
Major General
Major General
 
Posts: 2244
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 9:20 pm
Location: Pripyat
Reputation: 7

Sponsored

Sponsor
 


Unread postAuthor: jrrdw » Thu Apr 19, 2012 5:52 pm

aetherguy881 was a moderator at Theopia and is probaby the man to help you out with this. Send him a PM and give him time to reply, he's a busy man...
  • 0

When life gives you lemons...throw them back they suck!
User avatar
jrrdw
Donating Moderator
Donating Moderator
 
Posts: 6540
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 5:11 pm
Location: Maryland
Country: United States (us)
Reputation: 25

Unread postAuthor: Technician1002 » Thu Apr 19, 2012 7:18 pm

It could be anything from your ISP's DNS server blocking objectionable sites such as hate sites and weapons sites. This is highly probable. If everything else appears to work except Spudfiles, change the DNS server settings in your network settings to use AT&T or Google's DNS servers.

This is not a problem with SF and Ubuntu. I'm posting this now from Ubuntu.

Google DNS servers are 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4
ATT DNS servers are 68.94.156.1 and 68.94.157.1

If nothing works check the obvious such as is it plugged in? Try pinging your router to see if you are connected to your router, then ping your cable or DNS modem. Going one step at a time, you can find where the connection is failed.
  • 0

User avatar
Technician1002
Chief of Staff
Chief of Staff
 
Posts: 5190
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2009 11:10 am
Reputation: 14

Unread postAuthor: Fnord » Thu Apr 19, 2012 8:24 pm

Tech, I don't think he specifically mentioned only spudfiles being affected, rather his internet connection in general.
Do some ISPs filter sites like that by default? I never looked it up but that seems kinda weird...
  • 0

Image
User avatar
Fnord
Major General
Major General
 
Posts: 2244
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 9:20 pm
Location: Pripyat
Reputation: 7

Unread postAuthor: Technician1002 » Thu Apr 19, 2012 10:48 pm

Yes, some schools (if in a dorm) will filter hate and weapons related sites. This is more often filtered than porn.

Some ISP's offer parents filtered internet. If his parents are supplying the connection, this is possible.

I use Ubuntu exclusively at home. At work I use the company supplied Windows.

When using Ubuntu, it is highly recommended to make a restricted user account for general web use. With the inability to install anything and change system settings, it gives most malware a really hard time. Use the Administrator account for changing network settings, adding printers, installing software, doing system updates, etc and nothing else.

An ounce of prevention is worth more than several pounds of AV trying to clean up the mess malware leaves behind.

You would be amazed at the number of photo thumbnails are a link to a Windows .exe file. Instead of running it, Ubuntu states "This is a Windows exe file. Save or Cancel" Run is not an option.
  • 0

Attachments
Screenshot-3.png
Use Network Tools to check your interface for errors, ping your router, and general troubleshooting. Use the pulldown to select your interface card instead of the default loopback address.
User avatar
Technician1002
Chief of Staff
Chief of Staff
 
Posts: 5190
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2009 11:10 am
Reputation: 14

Unread postAuthor: mark.f » Fri Apr 20, 2012 8:13 am

Most important question: are you connecting with a wireless card? If so, the chipset is extremely important. See if you can look up what wireless chipset you're using.

Wireless drivers are sort of a pain with linux, with the Atheros chipsets being the easiest to use in general. I simply ran 50' of cat5 cable to my desktop instead of bothering with wireless drivers.

Note: wireless cards are very usable, however. I've managed to get the Broadcom chipset in my laptop and some Realtek chipset in a USB adapter working on debian.
  • 0

User avatar
mark.f
Donating Member
Donating Member
 
Posts: 3465
Joined: Sat May 06, 2006 11:18 am
Country: United States (us)
Reputation: 21

Unread postAuthor: mattyzip77 » Fri Apr 20, 2012 12:02 pm

I am running it normal, with a ethernet cable through a router. I tried removing router, messed with the settings, and a zillion other things, still no internet. It was working one day, than the next it was not. It will not let me do anything!!!
  • 0

Go Bruins!!!!
User avatar
mattyzip77
Donating Member
Donating Member
 
Posts: 1249
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2011 12:22 pm
Location: Taxachusetts
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: Technician1002 » Fri Apr 20, 2012 9:19 pm

Have you tried pinging or logging into your router from your PC to see if the connection is functional between the PC and the router?

Anything from a pet with the munchies to cables tripped on and connectors broken can break the connection and not be obvious.

Troubleshooting is required to narrow down the problem.

Try logging into your router. The address should be either,
192.168.0.1 or 192.168.1.1. Simply put the number in your browser URL bar and hit enter. You should be greeted with a login screen on the router if the connection is good.

Note that I am using Google's DNS settings instead of my ISP's DNS servers. They were more reliable than my ISP. You do not have to use the DNS settings your ISP provides.
  • 0

Attachments
Screenshot-4.png
Router configuration page as it shows on a Belkin Router before you log in to make changes.
Screenshot-5.png
putting in my cable modem address brings me to it's login screen.
Screenshot-5.png (16.98 KiB) Viewed 995 times
User avatar
Technician1002
Chief of Staff
Chief of Staff
 
Posts: 5190
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2009 11:10 am
Reputation: 14

Unread postAuthor: mattyzip77 » Sat Apr 21, 2012 1:37 pm

Yes tech, I did try that along with a bunch of other things. I picked up a E machines system today at a yard sale for 50 dollars. Its like new and so far no problems. Im going to put the other tower in storage or donate it to my library probably. I thank you and all the others for the help and advice!!
  • 0

Go Bruins!!!!
User avatar
mattyzip77
Donating Member
Donating Member
 
Posts: 1249
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2011 12:22 pm
Location: Taxachusetts
Reputation: 0

Return to Non-Spudgun Related Discussion

Who is online

Registered users: Bing [Bot], Exabot [Bot], Google [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot], Majestic-12 [Bot], MSNbot Media, Yahoo [Bot]

Reputation System ©'