Login    Register
User Information
Username:
Password:
We are a free and open
community, all are welcome.
Click here to Register
Sponsored
Who is online

In total there are 69 users online :: 5 registered, 0 hidden and 64 guests


Most users ever online was 155 on Mon Aug 15, 2016 1:40 am

Registered users: Bing [Bot], farcticox1, Gussmoore, Majestic-12 [Bot], Yahoo [Bot] based on users active over the past 5 minutes

The Team
Administrators
Global Moderators
global_moderators.png CS

Power Supply

All non-spudgun related discussion goes here such as projects, theories, serious questions, etc. All "off-topic" posts (aka useless posting, determined by moderators) will be removed.
Sponsored 
  • Author
    Message

Power Supply

Unread postAuthor: cannon freak » Sat Sep 02, 2006 5:33 pm

First off let me say that I am not an electronics person.

I am building a rather large hydrogen generator that I can use to fill a pneumatic with hydrogen at 200PSI. I have everything figured out all except one very important thing, the power supply.

I expect it to draw quite a bit of current.

If anyone could suggest something that could be taken out of an old appliance or something like that it would be great since I don't have a lot of cash, but any suggestions will be helpful.
  • 0


cannon freak
1st Lieutenant
1st Lieutenant
 
Posts: 272
Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 8:37 pm
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: dinsdale » Sat Sep 02, 2006 5:41 pm

You could run the power through an arc welder if you need some serious amps.
eg a small 120v lincoln hobbyweld arc welder takes 120v and 15 amps, and outputs 50 amps at 20v.
  • 0


dinsdale
Sergeant
Sergeant
 
Posts: 91
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 12:16 pm
Location: Bowmanville, Ontario (canada)
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: SpudStuff » Sat Sep 02, 2006 6:07 pm

just modify the coils on an old microwave transformer. cut odd all the coils on the input then wrap 10 in its place and use that as the input that will give you the voltage you need. be carefil though as it will spark when you put the electropdes in the water.
  • 0

User avatar
SpudStuff
Major General
Major General
 
Posts: 1410
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2005 3:55 pm
Location: Cupertino, California
Reputation: 1

Unread postAuthor: drac » Sat Sep 02, 2006 6:08 pm

You want a power source that gives low voltage with high amperage. 50 amps at 20v would be good, but if you can find a way to get the amperage higher and voltage lower, it would be even better.

http://oupower.com/
  • 0

Last edited by drac on Sat Sep 02, 2006 6:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
drac
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 916
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2005 8:56 am
Location: North Collins, NY
Country: United States (us)
Reputation: 2

Unread postAuthor: beebs111 » Sat Sep 02, 2006 6:15 pm

wire 30 9 volts together in pararell..................
  • 0

in the upcoming presidential election, there will be several candidates who will be running, one of whom is Hillary Clinton. Now WAIT A SECOND!!! I though there was some sort of rule that prevented someone from serving more than two terms in office. Vote Against Hillary: Presidential Elections 08
User avatar
beebs111
Brigadier General
Brigadier General
 
Posts: 807
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2005 3:08 pm
Location: massachussets
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: SpudStuff » Sat Sep 02, 2006 6:20 pm

And when that runs out in 20 min...
  • 0

User avatar
SpudStuff
Major General
Major General
 
Posts: 1410
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2005 3:55 pm
Location: Cupertino, California
Reputation: 1

Unread postAuthor: VEGEMITEMODDER » Sat Sep 02, 2006 6:22 pm

Two Way radio power supplys are great
I've got an ex police Motorola 50amp 13.8v supply and you could run anything off of it

and there pritty cheap to
or a big old battery charger
  • 0

User avatar
VEGEMITEMODDER
Corporal
Corporal
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Sun Aug 06, 2006 8:21 am
Location: Australia Mate
Reputation: 0

Sponsored

Sponsor
 


Unread postAuthor: singularity » Sat Sep 02, 2006 9:07 pm

now why would a two way radio need 50amps?
  • 0

be sure to check out my <a href="http://www.spudfiles.com/forums/ak-style-airsoft-vortex-gun-t10959.html">AK Styled Vortex Gun</a> and my <a href="http://www.spudfiles.com/forums/at-4-t9627.html">AT-4 Rocket</a>

upcoming projects... finalized clip fed BBMG and ball point pen sniper
User avatar
singularity
Brigadier General
Brigadier General
 
Posts: 982
Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2006 10:53 pm
Location: someplace
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: dinsdale » Sat Sep 02, 2006 10:28 pm

you could use a lincoln ac 225
you can run 225 amps at 27 volts
  • 0


dinsdale
Sergeant
Sergeant
 
Posts: 91
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 12:16 pm
Location: Bowmanville, Ontario (canada)
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: cannon freak » Sun Sep 03, 2006 1:59 pm

Whats a lincon AC 225?
  • 0


cannon freak
1st Lieutenant
1st Lieutenant
 
Posts: 272
Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 8:37 pm
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: dinsdale » Sun Sep 03, 2006 3:01 pm

a lincoln ac 225 is a basic 240v arc welder, they retail for about $300, but they have been making them for like 40 years so it's easy to find a used one cheap.
there are also many very similar machines out there, some much cheaper than a lincoln.
myself, i think lincoln > all other welders
  • 0


dinsdale
Sergeant
Sergeant
 
Posts: 91
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 12:16 pm
Location: Bowmanville, Ontario (canada)
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: boilingleadbath » Sun Sep 03, 2006 4:18 pm

I have an old salvaged PC powersupply that's been slated to become part of an eletrolosis system, as a idea.
  • 0

User avatar
boilingleadbath
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 1642
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2005 10:35 pm
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: cannon freak » Sun Sep 03, 2006 5:17 pm

Actually I may try the PC powersupply first since I may be able to get quite a few of them from nearby. What kind of voltage and amps does a PC powersupply put out?
  • 0


cannon freak
1st Lieutenant
1st Lieutenant
 
Posts: 272
Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 8:37 pm
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: dinsdale » Sun Sep 03, 2006 5:21 pm

a pc power supply usually puts out 250-500 watts, that is like 1/4-1/2 an amp
  • 0


dinsdale
Sergeant
Sergeant
 
Posts: 91
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 12:16 pm
Location: Bowmanville, Ontario (canada)
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: singularity » Sun Sep 03, 2006 6:07 pm

and the votage is anywhere from 3.3v to 12v (depending on which connect you use) i sugeest to use the pci-e connecter, cause normaly the vid card uses the most power. on my power supply i have dual 20a 12v rails but its a $120 sli power supply so....
  • 0

be sure to check out my <a href="http://www.spudfiles.com/forums/ak-style-airsoft-vortex-gun-t10959.html">AK Styled Vortex Gun</a> and my <a href="http://www.spudfiles.com/forums/at-4-t9627.html">AT-4 Rocket</a>

upcoming projects... finalized clip fed BBMG and ball point pen sniper
User avatar
singularity
Brigadier General
Brigadier General
 
Posts: 982
Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2006 10:53 pm
Location: someplace
Reputation: 0

Next

Return to Non-Spudgun Related Discussion

Who is online

Registered users: Bing [Bot], farcticox1, Gussmoore, Majestic-12 [Bot], Yahoo [Bot]

Reputation System ©'