Login    Register
User Information
Username:
Password:
We are a free and open
community, all are welcome.
Click here to Register
Sponsored
Who is online

In total there are 46 users online :: 4 registered, 0 hidden and 42 guests


Most users ever online was 218 on Wed Dec 07, 2016 6:58 pm

Registered users: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], MSNbot Media, Yahoo [Bot] based on users active over the past 5 minutes

The Team
Administrators
Global Moderators
global_moderators.png CS

Lagy Computer! (Guild Wars)

All non-spudgun related discussion goes here such as projects, theories, serious questions, etc. All "off-topic" posts (aka useless posting, determined by moderators) will be removed.
Sponsored 
  • Author
    Message

Unread postAuthor: singularity » Tue Mar 27, 2007 5:19 pm

ram is Random Access Memory, it is very fast and is directly connected to the processor, a usb thumb drive cannot get anywhere near the speed of ram. if you buy out dated memory from dell its gonna cost a sh*t load, now if you buy it from newegg.com its gonna be a bit less. but of course your gonna need the right kind. dammit i just checked the link thats rdram, once again dell has refused to use industry standard and use really expensive stuff that doesn't offer to much more performance. ram isn't like a hard drive, as soon as the computer is turned off any information stored on the ram is erased, you cannot store a program on the ram (unless you have a ram drive). but when a program is running it uses some ram, turning off thing like firewalls,instant messengers, and antivirus will free up some ram but not much, deleting them wont do anything. i have a feeling the problem is the ram but it would be nice to know what your video card is also
  • 0

be sure to check out my <a href="http://www.spudfiles.com/forums/ak-style-airsoft-vortex-gun-t10959.html">AK Styled Vortex Gun</a> and my <a href="http://www.spudfiles.com/forums/at-4-t9627.html">AT-4 Rocket</a>

upcoming projects... finalized clip fed BBMG and ball point pen sniper
User avatar
singularity
Brigadier General
Brigadier General
 
Posts: 982
Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2006 10:53 pm
Location: someplace
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: Scope » Tue Mar 27, 2007 5:28 pm

your confusing RAM and Harddrive space... while they are both measured in Bytes they are not used the same way. Ram stands for Random Access Memory. It was developed to be a buffer between the extreme speed of a processor and the slow speed of a hard drive... When you run a program it loads it up to RAM so that the processor can access the information quickly without having to go back to the hard drive constantly... its like your toolbox
everything is in the toolbox
but when you do a project you move them so they are quickly assessable. if not you would have to go back to your toolbox constantly.
When you turn off you computer the ram is erased (it needs electricity to hold information)

the first upgrade i recommend is, like everyone else, another RAM chip
try here... this way you know your getting what you need... i recommend getting another 512 but 256 will suffice.. for just a few bucks more 512 is a lot better (33%)

good luck!
  • 0

User avatar
Scope
Captain
Captain
 
Posts: 342
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 10:31 pm
Location: Ct
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: Grimnir » Tue Mar 27, 2007 5:56 pm

I don't think RAM is the only problem here, I believe it might be your video card. If you have a friend that knows about this kind of stuff, talk to them about helping you find a new video card and installing it if you haven't installed hardware yourself before. If spending money isn't an option, the only advice I can give is to turn the graphics settings for Guild Wars down, and close any applications you aren't using. I know one setting in particular (post processing effects, or something to the like) really affects performance.

Also, with the RAM, if you do purchase more and don't know how to install it, ask a friend that might know how or have it professionally installed. Paying to have it installed is much cheaper than accidentally shorting out your mainboard and having to replace it too.
  • 0


Grimnir
Private
Private
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 4:43 pm
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: A-98 » Tue Mar 27, 2007 6:13 pm

lol, i was kidding about the mac pro.

however, you cannot delete files to free up ram, te only way is to have less apps open.

as youve noticed, ram is a bit pricey, but worth it.( i get discounts cause i worked at the comp shop). i would say go for another 256 and get 512 of ram, pretty standard, and generally enough.
  • 0

There are rules, and then there are hundred dollar bills.
User avatar
A-98
Brigadier General
Brigadier General
 
Posts: 921
Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2006 7:41 pm
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: singularity » Tue Mar 27, 2007 8:19 pm

512mb is enough to play a new game on low settings, if you want high your gonna need at least a gig, as for the video card i built my computer from scratch and im building another one right now. so if you need help picking out a vid card i can definitely help you there. (my computer cost $1200 in 2005 and still plays all modern games on highest settings)
  • 0

be sure to check out my <a href="http://www.spudfiles.com/forums/ak-style-airsoft-vortex-gun-t10959.html">AK Styled Vortex Gun</a> and my <a href="http://www.spudfiles.com/forums/at-4-t9627.html">AT-4 Rocket</a>

upcoming projects... finalized clip fed BBMG and ball point pen sniper
User avatar
singularity
Brigadier General
Brigadier General
 
Posts: 982
Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2006 10:53 pm
Location: someplace
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: zeigs spud » Wed Mar 28, 2007 6:05 pm

lol i know what the hell ram is!! :lol:

hmk tho i think i just ont be playin this game anymore lol. ateast till collage and get a new comp :D
  • 0

User avatar
zeigs spud
Colonel
Colonel
 
Posts: 657
Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2006 10:39 pm
Reputation: 0

Previous

Return to Non-Spudgun Related Discussion

Who is online

Registered users: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], MSNbot Media, Yahoo [Bot]

Reputation System ©'