Login    Register
User Information
Username:
Password:
We are a free and open
community, all are welcome.
Click here to Register
Sponsored
Who is online

In total there are 86 users online :: 4 registered, 0 hidden and 82 guests


Most users ever online was 155 on Mon Aug 15, 2016 1:40 am

Registered users: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot], Yahoo [Bot] based on users active over the past 5 minutes

The Team
Administrators
Global Moderators
global_moderators.png CS

Computer problems

All non-spudgun related discussion goes here such as projects, theories, serious questions, etc. All "off-topic" posts (aka useless posting, determined by moderators) will be removed.
Sponsored 
  • Author
    Message

Unread postAuthor: risto » Tue Apr 10, 2007 4:46 pm

it's no so much limewire's fault as it is your own.

i have limewire, but i have disabled the ability to take things from my computer and i also double check EVERYTHING i download.

Also, Utorrent is the best bet, i agree, but still be careful

sometimes you can even download "anti-virus software" and end up getting a trojan or virus in the process. Theres no way to be 100% safe.
  • 0

User avatar
risto
Sergeant First Class
Sergeant First Class
 
Posts: 144
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 8:07 pm
Location: Citrus County, FL, USA
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: drac » Tue Apr 10, 2007 9:51 pm

Not to get off topic, but isn't Fruity Loops a looper/synth for music production?

I would never use it personally, because I haven't heard good things about it. You should check out Sony Acid. It's free and no spyware!
  • 0

User avatar
drac
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 916
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2005 8:56 am
Location: North Collins, NY
Country: United States (us)
Reputation: 2

Unread postAuthor: zeigs spud » Tue Apr 10, 2007 10:34 pm

Scope wrote:Download good virus scanners and update there files...
i recommend Norton and Adaware
Boot your computer in safemode (hit F8 when the computer is booting till a menu comes up then select safemode and hit enter)
run the softwares
wait...
Do what they say
delete viruses
restart computer
rescan the computer with both programs again

that should do the trick for the basic stuff
if your still having troubles theres other things you can do but try that first



fruityloops is a dj software


i know, i have an old version but, now that i have been complaining about this to my mom she is going to "persuade" my dad in geting me noron and keeppaying for updates.

for whoever commented me first could any1 tell me how i could do this? i forgot completely about that and it would save me a hassle, i REALLY need my comp right now.
limewire-meh i will get it again, just wont download programs.
karma- i have alota bad karma
fruity loops- friend from school sujested, never gonna try that again.
  • 0

User avatar
zeigs spud
Colonel
Colonel
 
Posts: 657
Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2006 10:39 pm
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: Pete Zaria » Tue Apr 10, 2007 10:36 pm

@zeigs spud

Did I not give you clear enough instructions? Which part do you not understand? I wrote you a fricking page of info...

Peace,
Pete Zaria.
  • 0

User avatar
Pete Zaria
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 978
Joined: Fri Mar 31, 2006 6:04 pm
Location: Near Seattle, WA
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: zeigs spud » Wed Apr 11, 2007 2:52 pm

no i just didn't read it all cuz i was "asleep" according to my mom and i were caught i wouldn't have a comp. sooo....anywho i ixed my computer and will be getting saftey software soon, or hardware..

p.s.-whts the dif between software and hardware?
  • 0

User avatar
zeigs spud
Colonel
Colonel
 
Posts: 657
Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2006 10:39 pm
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: paaiyan » Wed Apr 11, 2007 3:06 pm

Haha, hardware is the actual physical dervices in your computer, hence the HARDware, software is programs and executables. Your CD drive is hardware, Windows is software.
  • 0

User avatar
paaiyan
Major General
Major General
 
Posts: 2140
Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2006 10:03 pm
Location: Central Oklahoma
Country: United States (us)
Reputation: 1

Unread postAuthor: Matheusilla » Wed Apr 11, 2007 5:44 pm

awwww... C'mon, fruity loops doesn't suck, it's just too complex and sophisticated for the average user...... :wink:
  • 0


Matheusilla
Sergeant First Class
Sergeant First Class
 
Posts: 140
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 7:43 pm
Reputation: 0

Sponsored

Sponsor
 


Unread postAuthor: Scope » Wed Apr 11, 2007 7:04 pm

Pete Zaria wrote:@Scope,
Try Avast antivirus instead of Norton. It uses less ram, scans faster, updates more frequently, and is 100% free. It also has a more complete virus database.


yea i dont use norton... i just recomended it for ease of use...
I do self scanning mostly... keep my comp safe my self...
adaware is the bomb tho

o yea and once you fix up your computer
i recomend using shareaza as a filesharing system



.... who recommended this guy linux... if hes having trouble with this stuff how is he gunna run linux to its full extent (no offence sir.)


azureus
utorrent :-)


frooty loops is good IMO but i was never to good with it
im gunna download sony acid and try it out...
  • 0

User avatar
Scope
Captain
Captain
 
Posts: 342
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 10:31 pm
Location: Ct
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: frankrede » Wed Apr 11, 2007 7:36 pm

Matheusilla wrote:awwww... C'mon, fruity loops doesn't suck, it's just too complex and sophisticated for the average user...... :wink:

I had next to no experience with mixing and musical software and I managed to create some interesting music on fruity loops.
Nothing to hard, you just have to play with it a lot.
  • 0

Current project: Afghanistan deployment
User avatar
frankrede
Lieutenant General
Lieutenant General
 
Posts: 3220
Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2006 9:47 pm
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: integral » Wed Apr 11, 2007 8:00 pm

@zeigs spud

first of all it would be helpfull if u posted what type of computer u have. ie the model inspiron (sp?) blah blah.

the reason for this is alot of the dell pc's (well alot of manufactuer's (sp?) pc's) out there come with recovery partitions. this means that u have all the nessecary tools to reformat ur pc. it is as simple as accessing the recovery partition during the initial boot process and following the steps. this will simply delete everything from ur computer and reinstall ur default software and OS as if u just bought it from the shop. no cd's just press a button and ur away :D

DO NOT just limewire again. it is a hive of viruses and bugs. use (if ya want to...in no way endorsing piracy) torrents for movies or a great program called ares (google it) for ur songs.

another thing, if u download a full program that is only a couple megabytes big, it is obviously a fake. same goes with a full length movie the size of a word doc. be smart... download files that are popular and scan them before u open!

get some of that killer anti-virus/spyware and firewalls everyone has posted already. avoid norton cause its a captial b!tch.

good luck. :wink:
  • 0

User avatar
integral
2nd Lieutenant
2nd Lieutenant
 
Posts: 204
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 11:54 pm
Location: Aussieland
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: PCGUY » Wed Apr 11, 2007 8:24 pm

**bangs head on wall**

<a href="http://free.grisoft.com/doc/5390/lng/us/tpl/v5#avg-anti-virus-free">Good Free Antivirus</a>

If all else fails, pick this up
<img src="http://parazite.pp.fi/methfordummies.jpg">
  • 0

Yes, I am the guy that owns & operates SpudFiles (along with our extremely helpful moderators).
User avatar
PCGUY
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1576
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2004 10:54 pm
Location: Illinois
Country: United States (us)
Reputation: 19

Unread postAuthor: zeigs spud » Wed Apr 11, 2007 9:42 pm

thanks i'll look at it later, but i gonna try that anti virus
  • 0

User avatar
zeigs spud
Colonel
Colonel
 
Posts: 657
Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2006 10:39 pm
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: zeigs spud » Fri Apr 13, 2007 9:06 pm

hate to dub post, soo... yeah my dumb friend trashed it the same frickin way, just diff program... :evil:

okay well, i tryed to system restore again an each tiemit says i can't anymore, it says it didn't work. how to i reset my comp to how it was when i bought it?

Pete Zaria wrote:@zeigs spud

Scope gave you some good advise, save for one piece: Norton is horrible. It's a memory whore, it runs/scans slowly, it slows down your PC significantly, the updates aren't very good, it misses many viruses, etc...

I own an IT security company, by the way.

First things first, hit start > run > msconfig > go to the startup tab. This is your startup list, the list of programs that run in the background 24/7. Disable everything you don't need. The shorter this list, the better. Things to leave on: your firewall and anti virus software, your ISP software (if required), and any drivers. Blank entries and suspicious system32 entries should absolutely be disabled. Apply and reboot. After reboot, you'll get a warning box (System Configuration Utility, you've made changes to the way windows starts up, blah blah blah); check the box for "don't show me this again" and hit OK.

Second, download Adaware SE ( http://www.download.com/3000-2144-10045910.html ) and SuperAntiSpyware ( http://downloads2.superantispyware.com/ ... pyware.exe ) . Do a full system scan with both and let me know how that goes.

Download HijackThis ( http://www.majorgeeks.com/download5554.html ) HijackThis will analyze your system and generate a report/log. Post this log here for me to read. With the hijackthis log, I can tell you what virus(es) you're dealing with and how to remove them.

After you've gotten this bug removed:
1) Don't pirate software via limewire. It's not only illegal but risky and stupid. There are better ways to pirate software, though I don't endorse doing so (cough azureus and torrentscan cough). Always scan downloaded files for viruses and spyware with an up-to-date scanner before opening them.
2) Keep backups! Stuff like this happens, and when it does, sometimes you end up loosing a lot of data. If you have backups, it's no problem; you just reformat and reload your data from backup.

@Scope,
Try Avast antivirus instead of Norton. It uses less ram, scans faster, updates more frequently, and is 100% free. It also has a more complete virus database.

Scanning from safe mode is useful in some cases, but diagnosing the problem can be done from within Windows without problems. The actual removal of the virus may need to be done from safe mode, though.

However, since zeigs spud said he's gettnig tons of popups and ads, I'd bet money this is spyware/adware, not a virus. That's why I told him to grab those antispyware scanners and hijackthis. The hijackthis log will tell us exactly what's wrong though. If it turns out to be a virus, I'll give him removal instructions and recommend that he install Avast for future protection, along with a decent firewall like Comodo.

Peace,
Pete Zaria.

PS - Isn't it sad that the Internet has evolved to a point where simple home computer users have to install multiple layers of protection just to surf the internet? I think we can blame this largely on Microsoft, since the open source (Linux, Unix, BSD) and Mac communities have no such problems. And Vista is just going to make it that much worse... Please don't get vista, btw. /end rant


okay i read it lol. i am VERy glad u run an IT security thing, thought i don't know IT but anywho, when i am in msconfig i don't know what pograms to leave o keep my computer running.

once about 3 years ago my friend told me to delet as much as i could to free up my RAM, yeah guess what i deleted, my start up program....i had to completely reboot my comp and hve dell send me start up disks. it was a pain in the A$$.

and i have more comp probs to add!!! yayayay!!! ^_^ no not yay but...
i have a "warning your computer is infected and in danger of...blah blah"

how the hell do i get rid of that anoying thing?!?!?!
so pete if you could can usend me ur aim sn if u have one? thanks.
  • 0

User avatar
zeigs spud
Colonel
Colonel
 
Posts: 657
Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2006 10:39 pm
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: Specialist » Fri Apr 13, 2007 9:23 pm

hey, ya know what i just realized? that i have a mac and this hasnt happened once in my carrer with macs and yes i do use limewire. and im making a video and every song in it is from limewire. :D

P.S i will post my vid when im done.

P.P.S.S. sorry i know ive been annoying with the mac thing but what can i say? macs dominate the computer world! :twisted:
  • 0

User avatar
Specialist
Major
Major
 
Posts: 375
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 4:22 pm
Location: Illinios
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: zeigs spud » Sat Apr 14, 2007 5:44 pm

that didn't help at all.

my comp is even slower now.

i used that program pcguy said to use and it identified all my worms i have apperntly, but it wont get rid of them.
  • 0

User avatar
zeigs spud
Colonel
Colonel
 
Posts: 657
Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2006 10:39 pm
Reputation: 0

PreviousNext

Return to Non-Spudgun Related Discussion

Who is online

Registered users: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot], Yahoo [Bot]

Reputation System ©'