Login    Register
User Information
Username:
Password:
We are a free and open
community, all are welcome.
Click here to Register
Sponsored
Who is online

In total there are 42 users online :: 4 registered, 0 hidden and 38 guests


Most users ever online was 218 on Wed Dec 07, 2016 6:58 pm

Registered users: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], MSNbot Media, Yahoo [Bot] based on users active over the past 5 minutes

The Team
Administrators
Global Moderators
global_moderators.png CS

Possible new computer

All non-spudgun related discussion goes here such as projects, theories, serious questions, etc. All "off-topic" posts (aka useless posting, determined by moderators) will be removed.
Sponsored 
  • Author
    Message

Unread postAuthor: spuzi14 » Tue Apr 17, 2007 9:31 pm

I never thought of ebay. I'll see if there's anything in 3rd period study hall.
  • 0

www.thehurl.org <---Join it!

Those who live by the spudgun, die on the way to the plumbing store <---I don't know.
User avatar
spuzi14
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
 
Posts: 117
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2005 9:11 pm
Location: Struthers Ohio
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: spuzi14 » Thu Apr 19, 2007 8:38 pm

HELP!HELP!

I got the new computer and it has Vista. I cannot stand Vista!! It's annoying as hell.

I may have a problem with installing XP. I threw the CD in and brought it up on the screen and it wouldn't allow me to check for system compatability. To make things worse, I read that this disk is compatible with 98, ME, 2000 and something else but it wasn't Vista.

In theory I can uninstall my operating system (Vista) and reinstall XP. Well I can't remember how to uninstall an operating system. I can leave the XP CD in and restart the computer then access the boot menu and install XP, but isn't this gonna leave Vista on and suck up a ton of memory since there's two operating systems? This is kind of urgent so any help would be greatly appreciated!!
  • 0

www.thehurl.org <---Join it!

Those who live by the spudgun, die on the way to the plumbing store <---I don't know.
User avatar
spuzi14
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
 
Posts: 117
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2005 9:11 pm
Location: Struthers Ohio
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: spuzi14 » Thu Apr 19, 2007 8:39 pm

HELP!

I got the new computer and it has Vista. I cannot stand Vista!! It's annoying as hell.

I may have a problem with installing XP. I threw the CD in and brought it up on the screen and it wouldn't allow me to check for system compatability. To make things worse, I read that this disk is compatible with 98, ME, 2000 and something else but it wasn't Vista.

In theory I can uninstall my operating system (Vista) and reinstall XP. Well I can't remember how to uninstall an operating system. I can leave the XP CD in and restart the computer then access the boot menu and install XP, but isn't this gonna leave Vista on and suck up a ton of memory since there's two operating systems? This is kind of urgent so any help would be greatly appreciated!!
  • 0

www.thehurl.org <---Join it!

Those who live by the spudgun, die on the way to the plumbing store <---I don't know.
User avatar
spuzi14
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
 
Posts: 117
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2005 9:11 pm
Location: Struthers Ohio
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: Pete Zaria » Thu Apr 19, 2007 9:43 pm

spuzi14,

Chill out, dude.

This is very simple.

Reboot your PC with the Win XP CD in the drive. After the BIOS stage, it should say "press any key to boot from cd.....". Obviously, whack a key on your keyboard.
If you cant boot from CD, you need to go into the BIOS and change the Boot Priority to put the CD drive before the hard drive - this will allow you to boot off a disk.

Booting from the cd will start the XP installer. After it loads, you'll see a screen that shows the partition(s) on the hard drive. There will be a C:\ partition and maybe others. Delete the partitions (Select each one and hit Delete, follow the directions on-screen). Then install XP to the unallocated blank space on the drive (it will auto-partition the blank space). After you install, fully update it! You may need to find some drivers, the PC manufacturer's website should give you these.

After you have it installed, my software picks for freeware:
Antivirus - Avast
Antispyware - Adaware SE & Super Antispyware
Registry tools - CCleaner

Don't load it up with crap software.

What kind of PC did you end up with? What are the specs?

Peace,
Pete Zaria.
  • 0

User avatar
Pete Zaria
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 978
Joined: Fri Mar 31, 2006 6:04 pm
Location: Near Seattle, WA
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: spuzi14 » Fri Apr 20, 2007 6:17 am

Yeah sorry for flippin out like that...I was frustrated and angry that it wasn't looking good. I also had been given this message 12 quantillion times

A program wants to run on your PC. Cancel or allow?


:evil:

Those were my choices for software stuff. I liked the Avast a lot and Adaware is something I've had. I will tell you the screen is 19 inch and HD and that I could fit my entire old computer (all the info on it) inside this one at least once. I'll have more specs when I get home from school before I (hopefullly) delete this bastard known as Vista and install XP.

Not that this really happens but here's my opinion of Vista in a sentence and emoticon.

You've clicked submit to send your message. Cancel or allow?
:evil:
  • 0

www.thehurl.org <---Join it!

Those who live by the spudgun, die on the way to the plumbing store <---I don't know.
User avatar
spuzi14
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
 
Posts: 117
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2005 9:11 pm
Location: Struthers Ohio
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: Hotwired » Fri Apr 20, 2007 7:45 am

Heres some wonderful reasons to flesh out why Vista is as I said: a pile of piss: requirements to run both of them properly:

Requirements for XP:

Processor: 300MHz
Memory: 128MB
Hard Drive Space: 1.5GB+

Requirements for Vista:

Processor: 1GHz
Memory: 1GB
Hard Drive Space: 15GB & 40GB hard drive size minimim

What a system hog :?
  • 0

User avatar
Hotwired
Lieutenant General
Lieutenant General
 
Posts: 2599
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 5:51 am
Location: UK
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: spuzi14 » Fri Apr 20, 2007 6:11 pm

An extra question. I have Windows XP Professional with Service Pack 2...do I still need to update? There is probably a few extra updates but will this cover me?
  • 0

www.thehurl.org <---Join it!

Those who live by the spudgun, die on the way to the plumbing store <---I don't know.
User avatar
spuzi14
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
 
Posts: 117
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2005 9:11 pm
Location: Struthers Ohio
Reputation: 0

Sponsored

Sponsor
 


Unread postAuthor: Fnord » Fri Apr 20, 2007 6:24 pm

yeah, go ahead and look for updates. It cant hurt to try.
(unless youre using a pirated copy, then youll get hit with WGA and have to edit the registry to reverse the effects :) )
  • 0

Image
User avatar
Fnord
Major General
Major General
 
Posts: 2244
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 9:20 pm
Location: Pripyat
Reputation: 7

Unread postAuthor: spuzi14 » Fri Apr 20, 2007 7:13 pm

Ok...we popped the CD in and restarted. We were going good and then it came up about partitions. It said Unknown:Uknown disk or something along those lines. What I'm getting at is that I don't think there are any partitions. I pressed "C" because it told me if I do, it will create a partition. Well, it didn't. So I'm gonna assume I need to create a partition because it seems logical.

I went to Control Panel>System and Maintenance>Administrative Tools>Computer Management>Storage>Disk Management. Now there's a graph with Disk 0-4. Disk 0 is the only disk with anything on it. It has Recovery D (9.71GB NFTS) and the other one called C (288.38GB NFTS). Everything else is just empty. C has lines running at an angle behind it.

There is a blue bar above both of these. The key (or legend, whatever you prefer) says this is Primary Partition. It says that if it's black then it's Unallocated. I need unallocated, correct? The only option I could find that was possibly capable of anything was Shrink Volume. If I shrink the volume, I should be able to partition some space...right? I would have already done it but my second guess is that if I shrink the space then I'm just going loose space and that would completely defeat this whole post.

I think I've covered everything you should need to help me out. If not, let me know and I'll do what I can. A screenshot would really be nice but I don't want to install anything I might need to get one up here.

Could I have just choosen (sp?) to continue installation of XP even without a partitioned area? That was an option but I didn't feel confident to choose it.
  • 0

www.thehurl.org <---Join it!

Those who live by the spudgun, die on the way to the plumbing store <---I don't know.
User avatar
spuzi14
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
 
Posts: 117
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2005 9:11 pm
Location: Struthers Ohio
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: Fnord » Fri Apr 20, 2007 7:54 pm

You can take screenshots by hitting the printscreen button :)
Just hit it and hit paste in mspaint.
You should try to get on aim or irc with pete so he can help you along.
  • 0

Image
User avatar
Fnord
Major General
Major General
 
Posts: 2244
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 9:20 pm
Location: Pripyat
Reputation: 7

Unread postAuthor: spuzi14 » Fri Apr 20, 2007 8:08 pm

I can IM on AOL at YLLIBOCOL.

I'm considering connecting my old computer up.

I wasn't sure if you can upload with mspaint. I'll get it on it right now.
  • 0

www.thehurl.org <---Join it!

Those who live by the spudgun, die on the way to the plumbing store <---I don't know.
User avatar
spuzi14
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
 
Posts: 117
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2005 9:11 pm
Location: Struthers Ohio
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: spuzi14 » Fri Apr 20, 2007 8:20 pm

Here's a link to the screen I believe I can make a partition from. In a minute I'll be transfering my internet connection back to the old computer so I can be online on one computer while working on the new one. There is a rats nest of wires next to me and really...it's humerous.

EDIT: Yeah....I forgot the link....let me do the mocking...
http://i68.photobucket.com/albums/i39/p ... ck/SH1.jpg
  • 0

Last edited by spuzi14 on Fri Apr 20, 2007 8:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.
www.thehurl.org <---Join it!

Those who live by the spudgun, die on the way to the plumbing store <---I don't know.
User avatar
spuzi14
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
 
Posts: 117
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2005 9:11 pm
Location: Struthers Ohio
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: integral » Fri Apr 20, 2007 8:37 pm

spuzi14... its really simple. u will need to do what is outlined bypete and DELETE all the partitions u currently have. just a warning, if u do this, u will never be able to recover ur vista OS unless u backup the recovery partition before u do. i recommend u doing this because really u paid for it and now u would be like throwing it away for no reason.

dont go spliting up ur partions or anything, that will jsut cause u problems in the future. just go ahead and delete EVERY partition. then after that u would have a whole chunk of un partitoned space u will need to partition. if it was me i would make 2 drives, one for windows and applications and the other for user data. eg: make a C:/ atleast 20gb (depending on what u are gonna install and what not) and the other D:/ the rest of the space u got. once u have done this... u will need to format C:/ so u can install xp. let the installatoin run through, and u will have a running pc very soon!

once the installation has completed, and u have set the user preferences and intial configurations, go into My Computer and format ur D:/ so u can save data on to it. remember partitions are ntfs.

just a note about VISTA's DRM:
i have been running a comp on vista home premium for a while now and have no problems with such DRM. EVERYTHING is working fine and i have not had any hiccups of any kind. the only thing i can agree on is that it is a resource whore... 50% of 1024RAM is used on idle which is a bit ridiculous. but i gotta admit... im a sucker for its GUI :oops:
  • 0

User avatar
integral
2nd Lieutenant
2nd Lieutenant
 
Posts: 204
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 11:54 pm
Location: Aussieland
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: spuzi14 » Fri Apr 20, 2007 8:58 pm

Now that I added the link to my suspected screen...I think there already are no partitions. So I think I should have to make one for XP and then install XP in it. Then get onto XP and delete the remaining Vista partition.
  • 0

www.thehurl.org <---Join it!

Those who live by the spudgun, die on the way to the plumbing store <---I don't know.
User avatar
spuzi14
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
 
Posts: 117
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2005 9:11 pm
Location: Struthers Ohio
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: cash68 » Sun May 06, 2007 1:22 am

Get a mac mini. Seriously.
  • 0


cash68
Sergeant Major
Sergeant Major
 
Posts: 179
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2007 7:12 pm
Reputation: 0

PreviousNext

Return to Non-Spudgun Related Discussion

Who is online

Registered users: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], MSNbot Media, Yahoo [Bot]

Reputation System ©'