Login    Register
User Information
Username:
Password:
We are a free and open
community, all are welcome.
Click here to Register
Sponsored
Who is online

In total there are 56 users online :: 4 registered, 0 hidden and 52 guests


Most users ever online was 155 on Mon Aug 15, 2016 1:40 am

Registered users: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], MSNbot Media, Yahoo [Bot] based on users active over the past 5 minutes

The Team
Administrators
Global Moderators
global_moderators.png CS

weed eater motor bike help

All non-spudgun related discussion goes here such as projects, theories, serious questions, etc. All "off-topic" posts (aka useless posting, determined by moderators) will be removed.
Sponsored 
  • Author
    Message

Unread postAuthor: jon_89 » Wed Aug 15, 2007 11:31 pm

chainsaws already have the clutch dont they?
  • 0


jon_89
Colonel
Colonel
 
Posts: 607
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 9:50 pm
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: MisterSteve124 » Wed Aug 15, 2007 11:42 pm

Yeah they have a clutch and sprocket. But the sprocket wouldn't fit a bike chain. If you plan to use a friction drive and pedal start it then you wouldn't need a clutch.
  • 0

User avatar
MisterSteve124
Colonel
Colonel
 
Posts: 702
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 10:11 pm
Location: West Chester, PA
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: jon_89 » Thu Aug 16, 2007 12:36 am

so if i found a chainsaw all i would need is two sprockets and a throttle cable? are chainsaws easy to mount with out welding?
  • 0


jon_89
Colonel
Colonel
 
Posts: 607
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 9:50 pm
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: chaos » Thu Aug 16, 2007 4:02 am

chainsaws have clutches and so do "weed eaters" i hope there the same thing sa whipper snippers :?

maybe there different but every whipper snipper i have seen has had a centrifugal clutch, therefore means it cannot be push started.

Dont want a crap fight here, its probably a misunderstanding between cultures.

so if i found a chainsaw all i would need is two sprockets and a throttle cable? are chainsaws easy to mount with out welding?


it would be difficult to make it work properly without breaking with a chainsaw without welding in my opinion, they have a lot more torque and alot more power than "weed eaters".
  • 0

User avatar
chaos
Brigadier General
Brigadier General
 
Posts: 1205
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 8:31 am
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: MisterSteve124 » Thu Aug 16, 2007 1:03 pm

Well I don't know you might need to weld because I don't know if they're is any spot that you could bolt it. And yeah you would just put one sprocket on the chainsaw output and then put one on the other side of the tire on the bike.
  • 0

User avatar
MisterSteve124
Colonel
Colonel
 
Posts: 702
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 10:11 pm
Location: West Chester, PA
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: jon_89 » Thu Aug 16, 2007 4:17 pm

what about the spindle setup? is it easier to setup, effiecant, still kick start?
  • 0


jon_89
Colonel
Colonel
 
Posts: 607
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 9:50 pm
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: MisterSteve124 » Thu Aug 16, 2007 6:40 pm

Yeah i just assumed that since you asked if you needed two sprockets that you were going for chain driven. Yeah If you want to do a spindle friction drive you can just make a roller that will attach to the motor shaft that would press against the rear tire. You just have to make sure that it steadily against the tire. It doesn't have to be on super tight just pressed against it enough so that if you pedal it will spin. A friction drive would be able to start by pedaling and it would be relatively easy to setup but it wouldn't be as effecient as a chain driven. It also wouldn't really work in wet conditions. And you wan't the roller to have some texture to it and not be smooth so that it can grip the tire better.
  • 0

User avatar
MisterSteve124
Colonel
Colonel
 
Posts: 702
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 10:11 pm
Location: West Chester, PA
Reputation: 0

Sponsored

Sponsor
 


Unread postAuthor: jon_89 » Thu Aug 16, 2007 6:49 pm

so a chain setup will be be more efficient than the spindle? just out of curiosity do those speedometers for bikes work on smaller tires or are they calibrated for the bigger tires?
  • 0


jon_89
Colonel
Colonel
 
Posts: 607
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 9:50 pm
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: MisterSteve124 » Thu Aug 16, 2007 9:43 pm

Yeah of course. Spindles can slip sometimes and if you think about it of course a chain would give your more power and speed than just a friction drive. And I have no idea.
  • 0

User avatar
MisterSteve124
Colonel
Colonel
 
Posts: 702
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 10:11 pm
Location: West Chester, PA
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: jon_89 » Thu Aug 16, 2007 10:19 pm

ok i know we keep talking bikes but what would be a good ratio for a scooter with four inch wheels?
  • 0


jon_89
Colonel
Colonel
 
Posts: 607
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 9:50 pm
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: hi » Thu Aug 16, 2007 10:24 pm

i dont think it would work with 4'' wheels. though ive never build one so i dont know, that just seems small to me.
  • 0

"physics, gravity, and law enforcement are the only things that prevent me from operating at my full potential" - not sure, but i like the quote

you know you are not an engineer if you have to remind yourself "left loosy righty tighty"
User avatar
hi
Major General
Major General
 
Posts: 1619
Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2007 9:28 pm
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: MisterSteve124 » Thu Aug 16, 2007 11:18 pm

Ratio? You wouldn't have any room to have gear ratios on a scooter. Let alone gears. Most if not all scooters use spindles. I have seen some with like 8" tires with gears but 4 wouldn't really work.
  • 0

User avatar
MisterSteve124
Colonel
Colonel
 
Posts: 702
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 10:11 pm
Location: West Chester, PA
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: jon_89 » Fri Aug 17, 2007 12:09 am

well that sucks because i was kind of looking towards doing a scooter for portabilty and i will still have the probolems if i go with a spindle. so for the most torque i would want a low ratio of like 3:1 and for top speed i would want a high ratio of like 10:1? if i put like a 24 tooth sprocket on the scooter wheel and a 6 tooth on the motor will this be any differant than using a 48 tooth on the wheel and a 12 tooth on the motor? please correct me if i am wrong.
  • 0


jon_89
Colonel
Colonel
 
Posts: 607
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 9:50 pm
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: MisterSteve124 » Fri Aug 17, 2007 12:13 am

you won't be able to fit a 24 tooth sprocket on the scooter cause a 24 tooth is bigger than 4 inches. And I don't know I don't know gear ratios.
  • 0

User avatar
MisterSteve124
Colonel
Colonel
 
Posts: 702
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 10:11 pm
Location: West Chester, PA
Reputation: 0

Unread postAuthor: jon_89 » Fri Aug 17, 2007 12:16 am

neither do i. i think i will mess with the scooter for a while and if it dosnt work i will go with a small bike. thanks for all the good info.
  • 0


jon_89
Colonel
Colonel
 
Posts: 607
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 9:50 pm
Reputation: 0

PreviousNext

Return to Non-Spudgun Related Discussion

Who is online

Registered users: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], MSNbot Media, Yahoo [Bot]

Reputation System ©'