Password:
We are a free and open
community, all are welcome.
Click here to Register
Sponsored
Who is online

In total there are 66 users online :: 3 registered, 1 hidden and 62 guests

Most users ever online was 155 on Mon Aug 15, 2016 1:40 am

Registered users: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], Yahoo [Bot] based on users active over the past 5 minutes

The Team
Administrators
Global Moderators
global_moderators.png CS

first cannon

Built a pneumatic cannon? Then post it here! This section is for completed, finished cannons that you have built. Please include pictures and information.
Sponsored 
  • Author
first cannon

Unread postAuthor: trollhameran » Tue Dec 11, 2007 1:31 pm

this is my first attempt at a cannon. The barrel is 1.25m 15mm copper pipe and the chamber is 1.55m 22mm copper pipe. It uses a ball valve which im modding using an idea for a spring loaded trigger i saw on here. None of the part except for the barrel and the valve are fixed yet and i still need to find a suitable spring but the pics will give you an idea of what it should look like and how the trigger will work.

will update once i do more to it.
Image[/img]

trollhameran
Colonel
Colonel

Unread postAuthor: Hubb » Tue Dec 11, 2007 2:30 pm

Going for a rifle look, I see. What's the gate valve for on the end of it?

The only concern I see is the shape. Assuming you will want to take it to considerably higher pressure than a pvc cannon, the recoil may put a lot of stress on the elbows, causing them to bend / crack / break.

Advising on supporting the barrel and Welcome to Spudfiles.

Hubb
Major General
Major General

Unread postAuthor: trollhameran » Tue Dec 11, 2007 3:27 pm

The gate valve is because the pipe on my compressor has a push on fitting on the end of it so ill open the gate valve to fill it up then close it to take the compressor off.

Yh i can see what you man about the elbows, would it be better to have the chamber coming out the front instead of the back?