Password:
We are a free and open
community, all are welcome.
Click here to Register
Sponsored
Who is online

In total there are 61 users online :: 4 registered, 0 hidden and 57 guests

Most users ever online was 155 on Mon Aug 15, 2016 1:40 am

Registered users: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], MSNbot Media, Yahoo [Bot] based on users active over the past 5 minutes

The Team
Administrators
Global Moderators
global_moderators.png CS

Simple yet ghetto semi-auto design

Built a pneumatic cannon? Then post it here! This section is for completed, finished cannons that you have built. Please include pictures and information.
Sponsored 
  • Author
Simple yet ghetto semi-auto design

Unread postAuthor: mister pointy » Thu Jun 19, 2008 10:12 pm

Hello everyone.
I am new to this forum but i have some experience with spud guns.
This is my third gun, but my first pneumatic.

some specs: 3'' chamber, about 12'' long
2'' secondary chamber, about 13'' long
the barrel in the pictures is 2'', 2' long

This gun has evolved over time as i have modified it as i go along. It started out as a simple in-line with an electronically activated sprinkler valve. I then modified the valve to be pneumatically actuated, and chopped my barrel to make it an over-under configuration, and retrofitted it for use with the barrels from my old combustion gun. I was reasonably satisfied with the increase in power i achieved with a simple modification, but as time went on i wanted more. I toyed with the idea of making the gun semi-automatic, but had no idea how to do so.

I saw a design on this forum which used a modified blowgun to make a three way valve, effectively firing the gun and reseating the valve in one pull of the trigger, but it required modifying the blowgun.

I decided that i wanted to make an easy semi-auto setup for a sprinkler valve that would not only be simple, but also require no parts to be modified, so that it would be easily replicated by anyone without acess to expensive tools.