Login    Register
User Information
We are a free and open
community, all are welcome.
Click here to Register
Who is online

In total there are 66 users online :: 5 registered, 0 hidden and 61 guests

Most users ever online was 155 on Mon Aug 15, 2016 1:40 am

Registered users: Bing [Bot], Exabot [Bot], Google [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot], Yahoo [Bot] based on users active over the past 5 minutes

The Team
Global Moderators
global_moderators.png CS

Finally something I call finished

Built a pneumatic cannon? Then post it here! This section is for completed, finished cannons that you have built. Please include pictures and information.
  • Author

Finally something I call finished

Unread postAuthor: Tep » Sun Mar 15, 2015 9:06 am

I've been tinkering with plumbing parts for a couple of years now and until today I haven't come up with anything that I would call an actual finished product without major drawbacks. Most of the things I've made have been ridiculously complex, hard to actuate, horribly inaccurate, slow to reload and / or just generally annoying.

This gun was my way of going back to basics properly and in the process I made something awesome using easy to get parts from ebay, some brass fittings / tube, a piece of wood and a little bit of epoxy (could be optional).

close up of main bits

Anyone wanting to replicate this setup could do so with almost no tools. Wood saw, screw driver, scissors and shifting spanner would do it (pliers and soldering iron would help but optional).

It uses a off the shelf QEV, piloted with a cut down Schrader valve which allows filling from the chamber and super small pilot volume (<0.4ml). Chamber volume is about 20ml but maybe a little more depending on the volume of the fill line.