Password:
We are a free and open
community, all are welcome.
Click here to Register
Sponsored
Who is online

In total there are 77 users online :: 3 registered, 0 hidden and 74 guests

Most users ever online was 155 on Mon Aug 15, 2016 1:40 am

Registered users: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], Yahoo [Bot] based on users active over the past 5 minutes

The Team
Administrators
Global Moderators
global_moderators.png CS

12 volt air compressor possibilities

Post questions and info about pneumatic (compressed gas) powered cannons here. This includes discussion about valves, pipe types, compressors, alternate gas setups, and anything else relevant.
Sponsored 
  • Author
12 volt air compressor possibilities

Unread postAuthor: Bando_Red » Sun Jul 20, 2008 11:58 pm

Noob here.I found a cheap " 8 in 1 car vacuum" and one of the more useful things it is is a 12 volt compressor.Now I was under the impression you used a compressor to compress air,after searching a bit (I did search) apparently according to you guys they can be used as an pressure resovoir or whatever (don't have the lingo yet).So which is it?are they both?

Bando_Red
Private First Class
Private First Class

Unread postAuthor: MrCrowley » Mon Jul 21, 2008 12:07 am

A 12v compressor usually does not have an air reservoir or chamber, they are for emergencies like pumping up your car tire.

Since this is only done every now and then, they get little use and can cope pumping to ~45 PSI. But when you use them in a Spud Gun application such as constant use of pumping up to around 100-150 PSI and pumping large volumes, you'll find they break easily and quickly.

They simply aren't worth using for spudgun purposes. I would recommend investing in a proper air compressor, a 5 gallon 2hp (horsepower) one will do nicely and last for many years with little maintenance.

MrCrowley

Unread postAuthor: CS » Mon Jul 21, 2008 12:10 am