Password:
We are a free and open
community, all are welcome.
Click here to Register
Sponsored
Who is online

In total there are 49 users online :: 6 registered, 0 hidden and 43 guests

Most users ever online was 218 on Wed Dec 07, 2016 6:58 pm

Registered users: Baldyforks, Bing [Bot], Exabot [Bot], Google [Bot], MSNbot Media, Yahoo [Bot] based on users active over the past 5 minutes

The Team
Administrators
Global Moderators
global_moderators.png CS

Airtight seals

Post questions and info about pneumatic (compressed gas) powered cannons here. This includes discussion about valves, pipe types, compressors, alternate gas setups, and anything else relevant.
Sponsored 
  • Author
Airtight seals

Unread postAuthor: rikukiakuchiki777 » Mon Nov 16, 2009 6:14 am

I've got a project on the drawing board and, seeing as how I've never used O-rings before, I wanted to get some advice. I need a 100% seal and I wont go into details but so far I've thought of these two options:

Option A:
O-ring inside sleeve, sliding piece (the left part) seals against it once pressed into the sleeve.

Or option B:
Floating O-ring on the left piece.

Pretty self expanatory. The left piece slides into the coupler and it needs to seal. I would prefer option A for aesthetic reasons but I'm just checking to make sure that it will give a 100% seal before I go and waste money.

Any ideas/suggestions on what will work?

rikukiakuchiki777
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant

Unread postAuthor: qwerty » Mon Nov 16, 2009 6:24 am

is it going to move or are you glueing it in place? for moving you just want it to be o-ringed but not floating. and for still use option A but make sure you press it tight before the glue dries.

I visit occasionally to make unrelated posts.
qwerty
Colonel
Colonel

Unread postAuthor: ramses » Mon Nov 16, 2009 3:31 pm