Password:
We are a free and open
community, all are welcome.
Click here to Register
Sponsored
Who is online

In total there are 47 users online :: 4 registered, 0 hidden and 43 guests

Most users ever online was 218 on Wed Dec 07, 2016 6:58 pm

Registered users: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], MSNbot Media, Yahoo [Bot] based on users active over the past 5 minutes

The Team
Administrators
Global Moderators
global_moderators.png CS

Piston valve question

Post questions and info about pneumatic (compressed gas) powered cannons here. This includes discussion about valves, pipe types, compressors, alternate gas setups, and anything else relevant.
Sponsored 
  • Author
Piston valve question

Unread postAuthor: Gun Freak » Tue Aug 03, 2010 2:47 pm

I am designing a coaxial piston valve and (I'm gonna sound like a noob here lol :lol: ) the chamber is 1" and the barrel is airsoft sleeved in half inch pvc, which is the seat. So, I know the OD of 1/2" is bigger than the ID of 3/4" (at least sch 40) so that would make the piston have a slightly smaller OD than the barrel. BUT, if I make the 3/4" thin walled, then the piston will be wider than the barrel, which I think is necessary but I am not sure. So what I'm asking is do I need to use thin walled 3/4" for the piston pipe?

OG Anti-Hybrid
One man's trash is a true Spudder's treasure!
Golf Ball Cannon "Superna"M16 BBMGPengunHammer Valve Airsoft SniperHigh Pressure .22 Coax
Holy Shat!
Gun Freak
Lieutenant General
Lieutenant General

Unread postAuthor: Gaderelguitarist » Tue Aug 03, 2010 3:04 pm

Are you asking what material would be best for constructing the piston, or what would best be used as the valve seat?

so many muchness
Gaderelguitarist
Colonel
Colonel

Unread postAuthor: ramses » Tue Aug 03, 2010 3:07 pm

The piston does need to be larger than the seat. Why don't you play it safe and use the 1" pipe as the piston pipe? I mean, it's even there already! you just have to make it 1-2" longer.