Password:
We are a free and open
community, all are welcome.
Click here to Register
Sponsored
Who is online

In total there are 69 users online :: 4 registered, 0 hidden and 65 guests

Most users ever online was 218 on Wed Dec 07, 2016 6:58 pm

Registered users: Bing [Bot], Exabot [Bot], Google [Bot], Yahoo [Bot] based on users active over the past 5 minutes

The Team
Administrators
Global Moderators
global_moderators.png CS

Air chamber volume Ratio, PSI,,,

Post questions and info about pneumatic (compressed gas) powered cannons here. This includes discussion about valves, pipe types, compressors, alternate gas setups, and anything else relevant.
Sponsored 
  • Author
Air chamber volume Ratio, PSI,,,

Unread postAuthor: benchrest500 » Mon Jun 06, 2011 2:48 am

OK I'm new at this and just built my first air canon with 4" x 5' PVC air tank, 1" Rain Bird valve and 2" x 5' PVC barrel

I see a lot of high PSI guns on here but can't some of the high PSI benefits be overcome with larger lower PSI tanks?

In my mind if the projectile is well sealed you have (in my case) 120psi in the tank and a 5' x 2" barrel your actual PSI when it leaves would be calculated with the whole capacity of all plumbing.

So doubling diameter roughly quads capacity so when potato is leaving barrel my capacity increased roughly 25% and then I'm not sure if it's proportional but I'm guessing 25% reduction in PSI so 90PSI on exit?

So larger air tank more speed at same PSI?

4" x 2.5' air tank at 240PSI = 4" x 5' air tank at 120PSI ???

benchrest500
Private
Private

Re: Air chamber volume Ratio, PSI,,,

Unread postAuthor: Crna Legija » Mon Jun 06, 2011 2:59 am

benchrest500 wrote:OK I'm new at this and just built my first air canon with 4" x 5' PVC air tank, 1" Rain Bird valve and 2" x 5' PVC barrel

I see a lot of high PSI guns on here but can't some of the high PSI benefits be overcome with larger lower PSI tanks?