Password:
We are a free and open
community, all are welcome.
Click here to Register
Sponsored
Who is online

In total there are 52 users online :: 3 registered, 0 hidden and 49 guests

Most users ever online was 218 on Wed Dec 07, 2016 6:58 pm

Registered users: Google [Bot], MSNbot Media, Yahoo [Bot] based on users active over the past 5 minutes

The Team
Administrators
Global Moderators
global_moderators.png CS

Coaxial sentry gun

Post questions and info about pneumatic (compressed gas) powered cannons here. This includes discussion about valves, pipe types, compressors, alternate gas setups, and anything else relevant.
Sponsored 
  • Author
Coaxial sentry gun

Unread postAuthor: oilfieldtrash21 » Sat Feb 22, 2014 10:25 pm

What's up guys! This is my first time posting but I've been a long time lurker. I've built a few projects from the information in this forum and it's turned in to a lot of fun and now pretty much an obsession. I have been tinkering with an arduino board for making a sentry gun. It tracks motion through the use of a webcam and also has the ability to output a signal to fire a trigger. Most people are using them to fire existing paintball or airsoft guns but for me to do the same would be too easy and where is the fun in that? I'm basically wanting to build a coaxial for the compactness plus it would be my first. The smaller and lighter the cannon the less load that would be put on the servos and the quicker they will be able to react. I plan on using a 1/2" port 3 way valve actuated by a 12V DC solenoid that will be triggered by the arduino for multiple firing rates. After looking at all the different designs of piston valves being built, I had an idea for one that would make the whole cannon even more compact but I wasn't sure how well it would work. The plan is to build the spool as shown in the drawing and use a return spring to help "stabilize" the piston. The air supply would enter the rear through the 3 way valve. The first piston "A", wo