Password:
We are a free and open
community, all are welcome.
Click here to Register
Sponsored
Who is online

In total there are 68 users online :: 5 registered, 0 hidden and 63 guests

Most users ever online was 218 on Wed Dec 07, 2016 6:58 pm

Registered users: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot], MSNbot Media, Yahoo [Bot] based on users active over the past 5 minutes

The Team
Administrators
Global Moderators
global_moderators.png CS

Barrel Upgrades

A place to ask general spud cannon related questions.
Sponsored 
  • Author
Barrel Upgrades

Unread postAuthor: Hubb » Sat Jul 26, 2008 6:14 am

For my next project, I plan on adding new barrels for my combustion (once I finish its current upgrades). I want a golf ball barrel and a tennis ball barrel, however, I have no experience with either barrel type. Here are a few questions:

1) Golf balls - I plan on using a ball valve breech loader. What are some of the ways you guys keep the golf ball from rolling out of the barrel? I was thinking a rubber washer between the ball valve and pipe. Also, is the ball valve a 2"?

2) Tennis balls - Would I benefit any from a choke tube between the barrel and chamber? I was thinking this choke may help to accelerate the tennis ball more and help overcome that 12 lb force through the barrel friction. I was thinking half the barrel size (1.25"). Has anyone ever experimented with a choked combustion in this manner?

Hubb
Major General
Major General

Re: Barrel Upgrades

Unread postAuthor: Ragnarok » Sat Jul 26, 2008 6:37 am

hubb017 wrote:2) Tennis balls - Would I benefit any from a choke tube between the barrel and chamber?

I very much doubt it. Unless I'm mistaken, all you'll do is restrict gas flow by 75%, and thus cut the all important barrel pressure if you do what you're suggesting.

Does that thing kinda look like a big cat to you?
Ragnarok
Chief of Staff
Chief of Staff

Unread postAuthor: Hubb » Sat Jul 26, 2008 7:54 am