Password:
We are a free and open
community, all are welcome.
Click here to Register
Sponsored
Who is online

In total there are 50 users online :: 6 registered, 0 hidden and 44 guests

Most users ever online was 218 on Wed Dec 07, 2016 6:58 pm

Registered users: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot], Majestic-12 [Bot], MSNbot Media, Yahoo [Bot] based on users active over the past 5 minutes

The Team
Administrators
Global Moderators
global_moderators.png CS

Drag coefficients as a function of velocity

A place to ask general spud cannon related questions.
Sponsored 
  • Author
Drag coefficients as a function of velocity

Unread postAuthor: btrettel » Mon Dec 08, 2008 3:47 pm

To help me design a more efficient pneumatic gun I have been doing a little bit of ballistic modeling. The goal is to get a certain range with as little gas consumption as possible.

Let me note immediately that I'm not an aerodynamicist. I am a mechanical engineering student, but I'm only a sophomore. I haven't found basic external ballistics to be exceedingly difficult but it is new to me.

Models of the internal ballistics of a pneumatic gun are rather well developed and I intend to study them later. However, I'm having a difficult time finding information about the drag coefficients of a cylinder and a cylinder with a more aerodynamic nose. I can find drag coefficients for the shapes I'm interested in at different aspect ratios, but I know nothing about the Reynolds number or velocity (which essentially would have the same meaning here) that goes along with those drag coefficients. I've read many times that the drag coefficients vary greatly at low speeds/Reynolds numbers, so I'm unsure how reasonable it would be to use a constant drag coefficient.