how can i make my air compressor go higher????

Just starting to spud and wonder how long your barrel should be? Want to know how to build a better cannon? This is just the place! If you think your question is one of a newcomer, please post it in here. If your question is posted elsewhere, and it's a newcomer's type question, it will be moved in here.

Postby fidgety » Fri Dec 08, 2006 8:32 am

my air compressor only goes to 100 psi my other one that went to 150 died :( and i really really want my air compressor to go to at least 135 psi is that sane and safe?and if it is is there any way to modify my air compressor to go to a higher psi

if at first you don't succede blow it to smithereens
-me
fidgety
 
Posts: 96
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 8:34 am
Location: USA
 

Postby joannaardway » Fri Dec 08, 2006 9:18 am

Is the other compressor still under warranty? If so, get it replaced - because there is no sensible way to boost what your compressor will do.
joannaardway
 
Posts: 336
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 11:34 am
Location: United Kingdom
 

Postby fidgety » Fri Dec 08, 2006 9:20 am

sadly i had thought of that and no it is not under warranty any more it was my dads plus i sold it on ebay
fidgety
 
Posts: 96
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 8:34 am
Location: USA
 

Postby nicholai » Fri Dec 08, 2006 9:49 am

you would have to tinker with the pressure switch on the air compressor or replace it with a higher one. I wouldnt reccomend this though, if the switch didnt shut off the pump would keep going...and going... and BOOM!
nicholai
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2006 11:05 pm
Location: USA
 

Sponsored

Sponsor
 
 

Postby fidgety » Fri Dec 08, 2006 9:51 am

where and what is the "pressure switch"
fidgety
 
Posts: 96
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 8:34 am
Location: USA
 

Postby jimmy » Fri Dec 08, 2006 10:09 am

You would have to be an idiot to fiddle with the pressure cutoff switch on a compressor.
jimmy
 
Posts: 790
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2003 11:02 am
Location: USA
 

Postby fidgety » Fri Dec 08, 2006 10:11 am

thanks a whole lot for that important saftey tip
fidgety
 
Posts: 96
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 8:34 am
Location: USA
 

Postby jimmy » Fri Dec 08, 2006 10:59 am

Your welcome.

<hr>Couple engineers are sitting around finishing up their compressor design ...

<i>Eng1: Well, that's about it. Looks like the pump, lines and tank will take 500 PSI.

Eng2: Hmmm, just to F' with people lets put a 100 PSI cutoff in.

Eng1: Great idea! And the marketing people will think it is really cool that the maximum pressure is limited to just 100 PSI, what a great selling point! And heck, who cares that the cost to actually build the compressor is based on the 500 PSI limit. The bean counters won't care!

Eng2: Heh, but some smart kid will figure out that by just removing the safety limit he can get the full 500 PSI out of our compressor.

Eng1: Nah, you would have to be unusually brilliant to come up with an idea like that.</i><hr>
jimmy
 
Posts: 790
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2003 11:02 am
Location: USA
 

Postby Drew Rowland » Fri Dec 08, 2006 2:35 pm

I would bet that the pressure switch is aimed more at preventing burnout of the motor than rupture of the tank.
Drew Rowland
 
Posts: 871
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2004 9:45 pm
Location: USA
 

Postby Freefall » Fri Dec 08, 2006 2:38 pm

Would you still take that bet if the ante was your life?
Freefall
 
Posts: 3252
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2003 4:46 pm
Location: USA
 
 
Next

Return to Frequently Asked Questions aka The Newbie Corner

cron