how can i make my air compressor go higher????

Just starting to spud and wonder how long your barrel should be? Want to know how to build a better cannon? This is just the place! If you think your question is one of a newcomer, please post it in here. If your question is posted elsewhere, and it's a newcomer's type question, it will be moved in here.

Postby sgort87 » Fri Dec 08, 2006 2:47 pm

Very nice Jimmy. Very nice. :D
sgort87
 
Posts: 2062
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2005 11:59 pm
Location: USA
 

Postby spudproof » Fri Dec 08, 2006 3:02 pm

if you are going to tink with the switch you must take your tank off and take the pipe that usaly go to the tank and set it to the gun! woldnt do that!

dont get some of the bad things over on me!
spudproof
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 8:30 am
 

Postby Navigator7 » Fri Dec 08, 2006 3:04 pm

Spend 20 bucks~ get a nitrogen cylinder and go all the way to 2500 psi.

What are you waiting for?
Navigator7
 
Posts: 2635
Joined: Sat Jul 17, 2004 12:00 pm
Location: USA
 

Postby MisterSteve124 » Fri Dec 08, 2006 3:28 pm

Well its not really unsafe unless you don't pay attention to it. I have the same problem my compressor goes to 100psi and I want to pump up my pnuematic higher. It's fine to go higher because the pvc can hold higher than 100psi but if you forget to turn it off then thats bad.
MisterSteve124
 
Posts: 93
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 10:08 pm
Location: USA
 

Sponsored

Sponsor
 
 

Postby LucyInTheSkyWithDiamonds » Fri Dec 08, 2006 3:37 pm

You could get one of those pressure aplifiers that half the volume but double the pressure?
LucyInTheSkyWithDiamonds
 
Posts: 110
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2006 1:47 pm
 

Postby nicholai » Fri Dec 08, 2006 5:33 pm

how much more power do u need? 100psi is more than enough power. If you want more power from your cannon upgrade the valve, or make a bigger/better one
nicholai
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2006 11:05 pm
Location: USA
 

Postby Navigator7 » Fri Dec 08, 2006 5:39 pm

Go bigger diameter?
Navigator7
 
Posts: 2635
Joined: Sat Jul 17, 2004 12:00 pm
Location: USA
 

Postby c0mpl3x » Fri Dec 08, 2006 9:09 pm

get a thinner head gasket, and run high weight oil (ie gear oil) itll help seal a little better, and boost the compression
c0mpl3x
 
Posts: 639
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 9:52 pm
Location: USA
 

Postby fidgety » Mon Dec 11, 2006 10:05 am

can i take the motor off of my air compressor and stick it onto a bigger tank would that work or would it be too risky
fidgety
 
Posts: 96
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 8:34 am
Location: USA
 

Postby jimmy » Mon Dec 11, 2006 4:15 pm

<blockquote id="quote"><font size="1" face="tahoma,verdana,arial" id="quote">quote:<hr height="1" noshade id="quote">Originally posted by fidgety
[br]can i take the motor off of my air compressor and stick it onto a bigger tank would that work or would it be too risky
<hr height="1" noshade id="quote"></blockquote id="quote"></font id="quote">

Yes, that will work. Though usually people would just add a slave tank to the tank that is already there.

The only problem you might have would be if the compressor pump overheats trying to pressurize a tank that is much larger than what it was designed for. Some of the compressor parts get very hot, too hot to touch, running the compressor for a long time may heat up parts that weren't designed to get that hot.
jimmy
 
Posts: 790
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2003 11:02 am
Location: USA
 
 
PreviousNext

Return to Frequently Asked Questions aka The Newbie Corner