Page 1 of 2

Will this cannon design work?

Unread postPosted: Mon May 26, 2008 7:56 pm
Author: jonnyboy
Will it work? Is their to much room between the barrel and pilot for the piston? I can't get it shorter without the serviceable piston. In real life it is about 1 foot.

Unread postPosted: Mon May 26, 2008 8:02 pm
Author: LikimysCrotchus5
Well now...........

1. Wye's are not pressure rated, do not use them.
2. since your drawing is crude, what do you need 4"-3" for and i dont know what you are talking about.
3. You dont need that extra space behind the pilot area (chamber), so use a elbow to make it a over-under.
4. Weight does matter, the lighter the piston the better.
5. Try to find a 3" tee, and a 3" fitting piston, it will be easier.
6. It shouldnt take more than 5psi to seal a good piston.
7. It it could work, disregarding the serious explosive hazards that can serverly hurt you.

Better, cleaner picture needed, and modified with what i have told you.

Unread postPosted: Mon May 26, 2008 8:12 pm
Author: jr
The "Y" is concerning me as well :( are you using pressure rated pipe? can you identify pressure rated pipe?

Unread postPosted: Tue May 27, 2008 5:49 am
Author: jonnyboy
LikimysCrotchus5 wrote:Well now...........

1. Wye's are not pressure rated, do not use them.
2. since your drawing is crude, what do you need 4"-3" for and i dont know what you are talking about.
3. You dont need that extra space behind the pilot area (chamber), so use a elbow to make it a over-under.
4. Weight does matter, the lighter the piston the better.
5. Try to find a 3" tee, and a 3" fitting piston, it will be easier.
6. It shouldnt take more than 5psi to seal a good piston.
7. It it could work, disregarding the serious explosive hazards that can serverly hurt you.

Better, cleaner picture needed, and modified with what i have told you.

Alright I will. Since I want to get an aluminum piston I'm sure I can get it to fit.

Unread postPosted: Tue May 27, 2008 6:06 am
Author: XxtriviumxX
What pilot valve are you using?

With a ballvalve and a quick connect you shouldnt need that "Y" :wink:

Edit: Oh, and may I suggest using PVC rather than Wye...

Unread postPosted: Tue May 27, 2008 6:15 am
Author: MrCrowley
XxtriviumxX wrote:Edit: Oh, and may I suggest using PVC rather than Wye...

A wye is PVC.

Please make sure you know what you are talking about before passing information along, it's dangerous.


@The OP,

Read this so you know how to indetify the correct type of PVC to use (pressure rated):
http://www.spudfiles.com/spud_wiki/inde ... _Rated_PVC

Unread postPosted: Tue May 27, 2008 6:27 am
Author: XxtriviumxX
:oops: My mistake...

Unread postPosted: Tue May 27, 2008 2:45 pm
Author: jonnyboy
XxtriviumxX wrote:What pilot valve are you using?

With a ballvalve and a quick disconect you shouldnt need that "Y" :wink:

Edit: Oh, and may I suggest using PVC rather than Wye...

How do I fit a ballvalve on an endcap? Is a quick disconnect a tire stem?

Unread postPosted: Tue May 27, 2008 2:49 pm
Author: LikimysCrotchus5
jonnyboy wrote:
XxtriviumxX wrote:What pilot valve are you using?

With a ballvalve and a quick disconect you shouldnt need that "Y" :wink:

Edit: Oh, and may I suggest using PVC rather than Wye...

How do I fit a ballvalve on an endcap? Is a quick disconnect a tire stem?


Well you can use a 1/4 inch metal ball valve if you make a hole in the cap and tap it.



Image
Quick connect

Image
Tire stem valve

Unread postPosted: Tue May 27, 2008 3:52 pm
Author: jonnyboy
LikimysCrotchus5 wrote:
jonnyboy wrote:
XxtriviumxX wrote:What pilot valve are you using?

With a ballvalve and a quick disconect you shouldnt need that "Y" :wink:

Edit: Oh, and may I suggest using PVC rather than Wye...

How do I fit a ballvalve on an endcap? Is a quick disconnect a tire stem?


Well you can use a 1/4 inch metal ball valve if you make a hole in the cap and tap it.



How and what is a "tap". So you would get the quick connect in the endcap then hook up the hose from the compressor. Then what would the ball valve hook up to?

Unread postPosted: Tue May 27, 2008 4:14 pm
Author: jonnyboy
If I use a 2'' tee with a 2'' piston and a 2'' barrel how do I get the piston to stop. Or do I have to go to a 3'' tee?

Unread postPosted: Tue May 27, 2008 4:25 pm
Author: LikimysCrotchus5
I think its about time you do some more searching.

Unread postPosted: Tue May 27, 2008 11:11 pm
Author: MrCrowley
Agreed. You lack some basic but compulsory knowledge to build a piston.

Unread postPosted: Wed May 28, 2008 2:48 pm
Author: jonnyboy
MrCrowley wrote:Agreed. You lack some basic but compulsory knowledge to build a piston.

Hey I'm here to learn. Can you point me toward some helpful links that will help me.

Unread postPosted: Wed May 28, 2008 3:06 pm
Author: MrCrowley
The search function, the Spud Wiki and the Pneumatic Cannon Showcase section.
http://www.spudfiles.com/forums/search. ... 557feef1bb
http://www.spudfiles.com/spud_wiki/inde ... =Main_Page


And these may help:
http://www.spudfiles.com/forums/how-to- ... 10381.html
http://www.spudfiles.com/forums/piston- ... t8157.html


But of course you searched before posting this topic and found those before didn't you :roll:


And don't give me any crap about the search function, it works perfectly fine as long has you have half a brain and know how to use common sense to filter 800 results down to 50.