Problems with my very first combustion spudgun.

Boom! The classic potato gun harnesses the combustion of flammable vapor. Show us your combustion spud gun and discuss fuels, ratios, safety, ignition systems, tools, and more.
50bbx
Private
Private

Tue Apr 19, 2011 3:44 pm

Hi,
I'm new here at the forum, I'm not English or American, so I don't speak very good english, but here's my situation: I'm new building a spud gun and I'm having loads of trouble making it woking. I do not follow a specific guide, I've just used my common sense, but I am not an expert at all.
As you can see in the pictures attached is just two tubes glued (badly) and a electric lighter. I put the potato on the small side and the hairspray through the bottle neck glued on the bottom. I was having trouble closing little holes that allows air to escape, than I finally success in closing them. So, I went into the wood, in a remote place to try my spudgun. But it didn't work at all.
The hairspray didn't burn at all. So, I've tried to light it with a lighter from the bottle neck. And it works: it did a *big* bang when I tried to put out the fire blowing on it (I didn't try with the potato).
There are 2 possibilities: I sprayed too much hairspray or the electric lighter is too weak. (I'm more for the second one).
My questions are:
1. How many seconds do I have to spray the hairspray?
2. Is correct using the hairspray insted of, for example, deodorant?
3. Which is the best glue to make the spud gun durable?
4. I've heard that is better using a kind of electric "ignition" of a barbecue or something like that: where can I find one to replace the electric lighter?

Thanks for the answers, I hope I can shoot spuds soon :)
Last edited by 50bbx on Tue Apr 19, 2011 3:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.
warhead052
Staff Sergeant 3
Staff Sergeant 3

Tue Apr 19, 2011 3:47 pm