Page 1 of 1

compressed air input volume and pressure tests

Unread postPosted: Sat Nov 28, 2009 11:31 pm
Author: c11man
since i now have a air conditioner compressor and the ability to have a compressed air imput i decided test some myths and answer some questions about them

i also did some time trials. with nothing attached to the output. no air input it took 45 seconds to fill the compresor. sounds slow right? well since its a air conditoner compressor the entire shell is fillled with the high pressure so that is quite a bit of volume. when attach my qev gun tha thas a 3/4 by 16inch chamber it takes 75 seconds to fill. this means that the comprerssor shell has more volume that that chamber. now when i add 40psi in the time to fill the smallish cannon decreases to only 30seconds! a vast improvement in the volume it will pump

now pressure is a completly differnt story when a compressed air input is added of 100 psi the compressor stall at 450psi. and when 40psi i used it will go to the limit of my gauge of 600psi

hope this helps you all!

Unread postPosted: Sun Nov 29, 2009 12:05 am
Author: Technician1002
The shell of an air conditioner compressor is tied to the input side, not the output side.

Unread postPosted: Sun Nov 29, 2009 12:13 am
Author: c11man
Technician1002 wrote:The shell of an air conditioner compressor is tied to the input side, not the output side.


not on mine, the output holds quite a bit of volume and the input very little.
its like the ac compressor shown in the davidsfarm video

[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wK7aY4uoN8E[/youtube]

Unread postPosted: Mon Nov 30, 2009 5:16 pm
Author: POLAND_SPUD
hmmm that's interesting thx for testing that...
but could you tell if it can reach 600 psi on it's own (without air supplied to the air input) ?

iwell now it seems that jimmy was right... I remember also that he suggested putting a needle valve on the air input to increase pressure, back then I though it was a stupid idea but now I fell stupid...
soif you have one... it would be cool if you could test that as well

Unread postPosted: Sun Dec 06, 2009 10:48 pm
Author: c11man
the compressor can easily go up to 600psi on its own. adding a pressurised input decreases max psi but greatly increases the volume of the output. i find 40psi input is a good balance between max psi and volume.

and i dont understand what adding a needle valve would do?

Unread postPosted: Mon Dec 07, 2009 3:53 am
Author: POLAND_SPUD
it would reduce input pressure, which it might increase max psi while reducing flow

Unread postPosted: Mon Dec 07, 2009 4:46 pm
Author: c11man
oh i get it now. i just use the reg on my normal air compressor to set the input pressure. it would allow a higher max psi because more inlet pressure=less max psi
but the same thing can be done with a reg