Whats more powerful? pneumatic guns or Combustion?

Just starting to spud and wonder how long your barrel should be? Want to know how to build a better cannon? This is just the place! If you think your question is one of a newcomer, please post it in here. If your question is posted elsewhere, and it's a newcomer's type question, it will be moved in here.

Postby CobraMustang » Mon Nov 06, 2006 7:23 pm

Alright im new to making these guns.. but my friend is what made me start on it.. he has a hairspray/combustion gun. I read up on a lot of stuff on the home page.. practically everything. i think i seen somewhere you can get further distance with a pneumatic gun then a combustion gun. so please tell me which you think gets futher distance.. with a potato of course. and if you could, give me some tutorials on some good distance guns/ pneumatic and combuston ones.

Thx,
Brent
CobraMustang

Postby spuzi14 » Mon Nov 06, 2006 8:11 pm

Well I'll leave the tutorials to you (there's sticky's) but a pneumatic is more powerful obvously. You can put more pressure (more power) into it. However a monster combustion might out perform a tiny pneumatic.

I personally prefer combustions though.
spuzi14

Postby SpudStuff » Mon Nov 06, 2006 8:22 pm

It all depends on the size, pressure, bore of the barrel, for a combustion fuel, and for a pneumatic the valve CV and opening time.
SpudStuff

Postby An Apple Pie » Mon Nov 06, 2006 9:52 pm

So basically if you are going for a relativly compact powerful launcher then go for pneumatic. You do not have to worry about fuel just get a bike pump/compressor(reccomended if you only have a bike pump) and you are set(aside from ammo). I personally have never built a combustion and do not plan to, except maybe a hybrid in the future.

I like pneumatics because
More power
More customization(can use multi. valves etc.)
More upgradability(better valves, pilot valves, etc.)